BookBrowse Reviews My Mistress's Sparrow Is Dead by Jeffrey Eugenides

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

My Mistress's Sparrow Is Dead

Great Love Stories, from Chekhov to Munro

by Jeffrey Eugenides

My Mistress's Sparrow Is Dead
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2008, 608 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2009, 600 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Short Stories. 'Read these love stories in the safety of your single bed. Let everybody else suffer'

When was the last time you read Chekov, Faulkner, Joyce, and Nabokov all in one week? Maybe in college. But certainly not Lorrie Moore, Raymond Carver, Grace Paley, and Denis Johnson, too? If it all sounds like a discordant, overwhelming combination of writers, I'm here to tell you it's decidedly not. Like a great mixtape, My Mistress's Sparrow is Dead is a conceptually coherent and artfully conceived gathering of pieces, curated with deep passion for its parts, but also with a concern for how it resonates as a whole. Jeffrey Eugenides picks both the orthodox (Chekov's The Lady With the Little Dog and Raymond Carver's What We Talk About When We Talk About Love) and the unexpected (How to Be An Other ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.