BookBrowse Reviews Day by A.L. Kennedy

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Day

A Novel

by A.L. Kennedy

Day
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2008, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2009, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Winner of the 2007 Costa novel award, Day is funny and moving, wise and sad - a dazzlingly original performance

In A. L. Kennedy's intense novel, Day, we meet Alfred Day, a man growing a mustache and trying to understand the panic, terror, disease and pain of war. World War II has ended, and the boys have come home, but some, like Alfie Day, have residual hurt, horrible dreams and regret. Alfie joined the Royal Air Force when he was 16 so that he could have adventure and get away from his father. He was captured after a failed bombing mission and imprisoned in Germany. After the war, he wanders home and gets a job in a bookshop because he loves to read. When an opportunity comes along to be an extra in a movie about a prison camp, Day takes the chance. His small job at the bookshop with Ivor, another walking casualty, can wait until he finds himself again, if that ...

About the Author

Alison Louise Kennedy was born in 1965 in Dundee, Scotland. After studying English and Drama at Warwick University, she served as Writer in Residence at Hamilton, East Kilbride Social Work Department, and Copenhagen University. She has edited various magazines in the United Kingdom, and has been a judge for the Mann Booker Prize (1996) and The Guardian First Book Award (2001). She was made a fellow of the Royal Society of Arts in 2000. Granta nominated her as one of 20 "Best Young Novelists" in 2003. She is the recipient of the Encore Award (1995). In addition to her writing career, ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.