BookBrowse Reviews Legacy of Ashes by Tim Weiner

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Legacy of Ashes

The History of the CIA

by Tim Weiner

Legacy of Ashes
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2007, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2008, 832 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Amy Reading

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Legacy of Ashes grants some of the keen-eyed vision that the CIA has lacked for so long

Tim Weiner begins his history of the CIA with an unambiguous rebuke: "The most powerful country in the history of civilization has failed to create a first-rate spy service." He warns that the United States' three-hundred-year dominance will evaporate "unless it finds the eyes to see things as they are in the world." For all its covert activities, the CIA's deepest secret, according to Weiner, is how little it knows about other countries and how often it acts blindly, with dire consequences. Since its inception in 1945, the agency has routinely put thousands of agents and their informants in grave danger for mere scraps of intelligence. Just as routinely, the CIA has failed to foresee major threats to American security; the deadly blindsiding on 9/11 has a long and alarming pedigree.

Weiner documents how the agency's failures have been built into its very ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.