BookBrowse Reviews Agent Zigzag by Ben Macintyre

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Agent Zigzag

A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal

by Ben Macintyre

Agent Zigzag
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2007, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2008, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

The enthralling true story of double-agent Zigzag, an amoral charmer and former safeblower who risked his life for his country

Agent Zigzag is one of two books recently published about double-agent Eddie Chapman. The other is ZigZag: The Incredible Wartime Exploits of Double Agent Eddie Chapman by Nicholas Booth. Of the two, Booth's comes in about 100 pages longer than Macintyre's and is written in collaboration with Eddie's wife Betty (Eddie having died in 1997), and thus is more personal in tone. Despite this, reviewers in general favor Macintyre's version - which is the subject of the remainder of this review.

Every war creates its villains and its heroes, occasionally they can be one and the same, as in the case of Eddie Chapman.

Eddie was languishing in prison in the Channel Islands* when the Germans invaded in 1940. His latest ...

*Closer to France than England, the group of islands known to the British as The Channel Islands (map) include Jersey, Guernsey, Alderney and Sark. As "Crown dependencies" the islands are effectively self-governing and are not represented in the British Parliament, but are treated as part of the United Kingdom for British nationality law purposes. From 1940-1945, the islands were occupied by German forces (the only part of the British Commonwealth occupied by Germany) who built huge numbers of defensive positions as part of the "Atlantic Wall". By 1944, most islanders were near to starvation and many had been taken to the continent as slave laborers. The islands were liberated in May 1945, an event celebrated every May 9. For more about this, ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.