BookBrowse Reviews The Chess Machine by Robert Lohr

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Chess Machine

A Novel

by Robert Lohr

The Chess Machine
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2007, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2008, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

An historical adventure based on the true story of a legendary invention

It is estimated that 300 million TV viewers watched Garry Kasparov lose to IBM's Deep Blue in 1997*. The audience was a lot smaller when Wolfgang von Kempelen unveiled his Mechanical Turk to The Empress Maria Theresia and her court in 1770, but they were no less surprised to witness a machine beat a man at chess. Little did they know that the Turk was a very clever fraud, one of the most elaborate hoaxes in history.

Although a fair amount is known about the life of Wolfgang von Kempelen, nothing is known about the chess player(s) who hid inside the machine, so Lohr has liberally played with the known facts to create the central character of Tibor, a deeply religious and honest dwarf who, through circumstances beyond his control finds himself in ...

*Kasparov vs. Deep Blue: Former World Chess Champion Garry Kasparov defeated IBM's Deep Thought easily in 1989. Seven years later, a new improved computer, Deep Blue, won the first of six games against Kasparov but Kasparov fought back to win overall with three wins and two draws.

A year later, in May 1997, Kasparov took on an enhanced Deep Blue in a six game match; Deep Blue won with two wins to one against, with 3 draws. After the loss, Kasparov said that he saw signs of deep intelligence and creativity in the machine's moves, indicating human intervention during the match. IBM denied any intervention during the games so Kasparov requested printouts of the machine's logs, which IBM refused to provide at the time (they were later ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.