BookBrowse Reviews Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by R. L. LaFevers

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos

by R. L. LaFevers

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2007, 343 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2008, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Nancy Drew meets Indiana Jones in the first of a new series set in 1906 London and Egypt. Ages 11+

There is much in Ancient Egyptian history to fascinate young minds, from the mysteries of hieroglyphs to the Egyptian pantheon of glamorous deities, not forgetting the tombs and pyramids - and who better to explore them with than plucky Theodosia Throckmorton, an 11-year-old version of Elizabeth Peter's indomitable Amelia Peabody, except that Amelia can command attention with her trusty sharpened parasol and the authority of adulthood, whereas nobody takes Theo seriously, especially not her parents. Theo's father runs a museum of antiquities in Edwardian London (early 1900s, 1906 to be exact), while her American mother gallivants around Egypt uncovering new treasures for the museum in the Valley of the Kings and elsewhere. On the outside, Theo is ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.