BookBrowse Reviews The Father of All Things by Tom Bissell

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Father of All Things

A Marine, His Son, and the Legacy of Vietnam

by Tom Bissell

The Father of All Things
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2007, 432 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2008, 432 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A fascinating work about the American character and about war itself. A moving book about fathers, sons, and the universal desire to understand our parents

This is Bissell's third book following Chasing The Sea, a travelogue through Central Asia recording his disastrous time with the Peace Corp; and a collection of short stories, God Lives in St Petersburg. Having read his earlier books, one might conclude that Bissell has been building himself up to tackle this very big, very personal topic, but actually it seems that the topic caught up with him, triggered by an assignment for GQ magazine that took him and his father to Vietnam to relive his father's wartime experiences - an article now much expanded into book form.

Speaking of the post-war generation, of which he is a part, Bissell writes, "[t]his strange, lost war, simultaneously real and unimaginable, forced us to ...

Suggested Reading.
The bibliography for The Father of All Things runs to 14 pages but, conveniently, in 2006 Bissell wrote an article for Salon.com in which he details his recommended reading list about Vietnam, summarized below:

  • Michael Herr's 1977 memoir Dispatches: "A nearly perfect synthesis of war reportage and lysergic impressionism."
  • Neil L. Jamieson's Understanding Vietnam: "The rare book that seemingly everyone who cares about Vietnam recommends without reservation."
  • Neil Sheehan's A Bright Shining Lie: "The best book to read about the American side of the Vietnam War."
  • Bao Ninh's The Sorrow of War: "A dreamlike and terrifying novel about a North Vietnamese soldier, ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.