BookBrowse Reviews Fieldwork by Mischa Berlinski

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fieldwork

A Novel

by Mischa Berlinski

Fieldwork
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2007, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2008, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A novel about fascination and taboo—scientific, religious, and sexual. 1st Novel

Shortlisted for the 2007 National Book Awards, Berlinsky's excellent first novel is notable on a number of counts. Not only does it provide a wealth of highly readable information about the hilltribes that live in the mountainous area known as the "Golden Triangle" that spans the borders of five South-East Asian countries (see sidebar), but it also provides a study of two other cultural groups that are a mystery to most of us - missionaries and anthropologists!

The protagonist of Berlinski's first book shares the author's name, but Berlinski assures us that the book is fiction - not least because the Dyalo hilltribe, so central to the plot, do not exist. Having said that, Fieldwork started off as Berlinski's attempt to write a nonfiction account of the conversion of many of the Lisu people to ...

*If you're interested in exploring the book's background further, read the interview at BookBrowse and browse the 1982 Time article on missionaries which includes brief information on the Morse family, on which Berlinsky has clearly based his Walker family. You should also read "A Note On The Sources" at the back of the book, and if you really want to dig deep try Googling terms such as "missionaries to the lisu", "james outram fraser" and "isobel and john kuhn"


Mischa Berlinski
was born in New York in 1973. He studied classics at the University of California at Berkeley and at Columbia University. He has worked as a journalist in Thailand and now lives in Rome where he is currently writing about a woman in Orissa, India who married a snake.

Interesting to Note: Mischa is the son of ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.