BookBrowse Reviews Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Half of a Yellow Sun

by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Half of a Yellow Sun
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2006, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2007, 528 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Recreates a seminal moment in modern African history and the chilling violence that followed. Novel

This is the second novel by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, following Purple Hibiscus (2002) which is also set in Nigeria.  It was published in hardcover in 2006 when the author was 29, and won the prestigious Orange Prize in 2007.  The Orange Prize (underwritten by the telecommunications company, Orange) is awarded to the best full length novel written in English by a woman of any nationality. 

Half of a Yellow Sun is a remarkable, totally absorbing epic about a small corner of the vast continent of Africa that many Westerners couldn't find on a map, but is nonetheless home to 120 million people. It's a story of ethnic allegiances, moral responsibility and love which puts a face on the devastating civil war that erupted less than 40 years ago, in 1967, when the Igbo people, ...

About the Author  Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (pronounced Chim-muh-MAHN-duh en-GOH-zee ah-DEECH-ee-(ay) The “ay” is soft, not quite a diphthong) is currently attending graduate school in the African Studies program at Yale and working on her next book.

Brought up as a Roman Catholic, Adichie is from the Biafran region of Nigeria, but was born after the civil war ended. Her father, a professor of statistics, lost everything in the war but eventually became vice-chancellor of the University of Nigeria.  As a child she devoured Enid Blyton books and soon started writing her own books with middle-class white characters "exactly like Enid Blyton's". It was only later, when she began to read African books that she realized that black Africans "could actually exist" in ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.