BookBrowse Reviews Lost and Found by Carolyn Parkhurst

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Lost and Found

A Novel

by Carolyn Parkhurst

Lost and Found
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2006, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2007, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A thoroughly enjoyable journey from its enticing start to its completely satisfying ending. Novel

From it's happy yellow cover with brightly colored parrots peering from all corners*, to the poignant, albeit arguably predictable conclusion, Lost and Found offers intelligent light reading for the beach, your daily commute (so long as someone else is doing the driving!) or any other place you might find yourself in the coming months. Its short chapters, each narrated by a different contestant, make it particularly easy to dip in and out of.

Although there are 12 pairs of contestants at the start of the game we only get to know a handful of these in any depth. There's the two former child stars who've spent their lives under the spotlight and see the reality show as their last best hope for returning to some modicum of stardom; there's the deeply troubled couple known to everyone but themselves as Team Brimstone, who are on a mission to tell the world how "the ...

Sadly, the parrots that graced the hardcover have been replaced by a picture of two women and a suitcase in the paperback version - less eye-catching but presumably thought to be more appealing to the target audience.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.