BookBrowse Reviews Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cover The Butter

by Carrie Kabak

Cover The Butter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2005, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A charming, compassionate look at how one woman discovers that self-fulfillment shouldn't be postponed forever. 1st Novel

Kabak's debut is set in Wales (which, just in case you're not familiar with the geography of Britain, is the bulge on the West side of the country surrounded on three sides by sea) - Kate Cadogan is a typical desperate housewife who is triggered to take stock of her life when she comes home to find her teenage son has trashed the house and her husband couldn't care less.  As she starts to take a close look at her life we travel back with her to her teenage years in the 1970s which were dominated by her controlling mother, and Kate's unplanned pregnancy, which landed her married to Rodney.  Luckily for Kate, she has two supportive friends, Ingrid and Moira, who stick with her through the years, and the support and sympathy of her grandparents and aunt (to the point that one can't help wondering how things managed to spiral to such a low point for her in the...

"Scenes play out fluidly and are nicely detailed, particularly in Kate's sophisticated foodyism." - Publishers Weekly.
"This is a charming, compassionate look at how one woman discovers that self-fulfillment shouldn't be postponed forever." - Booklist.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.