BookBrowse Reviews The Cry of The Icemark by Stuart Hill

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Cry of The Icemark

by Stuart Hill

The Cry of The Icemark
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2005, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2006, 496 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Action/Adventure for Children Aged 12+

What a great book! We read The Cry of the Icemark to our children (then 9 and 11) at our "morning reading parties" (half an hour before the start of the school day) and I can attest to the fact that there's nothing better for getting the day off to a good start than following Thirrin into battle!

The Icemark is a cold, northern country inhabited by a tough people, ruled by King Redrought Strong-in-the-Arm Lindenshield, Bear of the North - a formidable enemy, wily leader and doting father, who likes nothing better than a nice comfy pair of slippers and a bowl of warm water in which to soak his corns after a hard day chasing down enemies of the kingdom.

Sadly, but inevitably...

Selected Reviews:
"For readers whose imaginations are stirred by clashes of pike and saber and lusty cries of "Blood! Blast! And Fire!" this extravagant first novel--especially its more swiftly paced latter half--offers ample rewards." - Booklist.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.