BookBrowse Reviews The World Is Flat by Thomas Friedman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The World Is Flat

A Brief History of the Twenty-first Century

by Thomas Friedman

The World Is Flat
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2005, 496 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2007, 640 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Globalization: Good or Bad? Current Affairs

Reviewer opinion is divided over Friedman's latest, The World Is Flat, (following The Lexus and The Olive Tree). Those who are very familiar with the subject find it to be a bit of a damp squib, but those who aren't (or, more to the point, those who keep in mind that most of the reading public are not experts on globalization) feel it is a lively and provocative read supported by a swirl of anecdotes showing first hand how globalization is changing the lives of individuals all around the world, and suggesting how companies, countries and individuals will need to adapt if they wish to come out on top in our new flattened world. Friedman's advice for the US in particular is to invest in education, technology and ...

Representative Reviews:
"....This is all familiar stuff by now, but the last 100 pages on the economic and political roots of global Islamism are filled with the kind of close reporting and intimate yet accessible analysis that have been hard to come by." - Publishers Weekly (starred review).

"If anyone should be able to explain the many complicated political, economic and social issues connected to the phenomenon of globalisation, it should be [Friedman]. What a surprise, then, that his latest book is such a dreary failure... Mr Friedman has discovered his metaphor for globalisation, and now nothing will stop him. He shows his readers no mercy, ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.