BookBrowse Reviews The Orientalist by Tom Reiss

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Orientalist

Solving The Mystery of a Strange and Dangerous Life

by Tom Reiss

The Orientalist
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2005, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2006, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A page turner of epic proportions!

Comment: Reiss takes us on an intriguing search to uncover the true identity of the author of the 1930's cult novel, Ali and Nino - Lev Nussimbaum, a Jew who became a Muslim prince, who became a bestselling author in Nazi Germany.  Nussimbaum's life began in Baku, the capital of Azerbaijan, in 1905.  Baku was once the oil capital of the world - a place 'where Islam and the Orient were filtered through a  multicultural European lens'.  When the Soviet's took over Nussimbaum and his father fled for the Persian deserts, where Nussimbaum lived the live of a nomad and converted to Islam.  In the late 1920s he had become a bestselling author in Germany using the names Essad Bey and Kurban Said, until he was forced to flee for Italy, where he died in 1938.  

So why would you be interested in reading about an obscure author who ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.