The BookBrowse Review

Published June 22, 2022

ISSN: 1930-0018

printable version
This is a free issue of our membership magazine, The BookBrowse Review, which we publish twice a month.
Join | Renew | Give a Gift Membership | BookBrowse for Libraries
Back    Next

Contents

In This Edition of
The BookBrowse Review

Highlighting indicates debut books

Editor's Introduction
Reviews
Hardcovers Paperbacks
First Impressions
Latest Author Interviews
Recommended for Book Clubs
Book Discussions

Discussions are open to all members to read and post. Click to view the books currently being discussed.

Publishing Soon

Literary Fiction


Historical Fiction


Short Stories


Essays


Mysteries


Thrillers


Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Speculative, Alt. History


Biography/Memoir


History, Current Affairs and Religion


Science, Health and the Environment


Travel & Adventure


Young Adults

Literary Fiction

  • Big Girl by Mecca Jamilah Sullivan (rated 4/5)

Thrillers


Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Speculative, Alt. History


Extras
  • Blog:
    6 Novels for Book Clubs That Reflect on Reproductive Rights
  • Wordplay:
    T O Thing W H T F I F I
  • Book Giveaway:
    Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing
Book Jacket

The Swift and the Harrier
by Minette Walters
12 Jul 2022
500 pages
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Genre: Historical Fiction
Critics:
Readers:
mail to a friend   

A sweeping historical adventure set during one of the most turbulent periods of British history--featuring a heroine you'll never forget...

Dorset, 1642.

When bloody civil war breaks out between the king and Parliament, families and communities across England are riven by different allegiances.

A rare few choose neutrality.

One such is Jayne Swift, a Dorset physician from a Royalist family, who offers her services to both sides in the conflict. Through her dedication to treating the sick and wounded, regardless of belief, Jayne becomes a witness to the brutality of war and the devastation it wreaks.

Yet her recurring companion at every event is a man she should despise because he embraces civil war as the means to an end. She knows him as William Harrier, but is ignorant about every other aspect of his life. His past is a mystery and his future uncertain.

The Swift and the Harrier is a sweeping tale of adventure and loss, sacrifice and love, with a unique and unforgettable heroine at its heart.

"Walters draws wonderfully on her crime-writing skills...[and] takes us through the years of this devastating war and shows its effects on the towns and villages of Dorsetshire. Her expositions on English history might make some readers impatient for action, but they provide much-needed context for a crisis that divided English society and viciously turned citizens against each other in a way that feels strangely familiar now. This well-researched novel of 17th-century warfare shows the perils and rewards of sticking to one's principles." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Endearing characters spark life into centuries-old history in Walters's latest, which will appeal to fans of Philippa Gregory, Margaret George, and Sharon Kay Penman." - Library Journal (starred review)

"This well-researched, atmospheric tale is as gripping as any of her thrillers." - Good Housekeeping

"I loved every moment of this brilliantly evocative saga of struggle, love, and danger set against the horrors of civil war." - S. W. Perry, bestselling author of the Jackdaw Mysteries

Write your own review

Rated 5 of 5 of 5 by Mahendar
The swift and the harrier
Very good and fabulous. Love it.

Minette Walters is one of the world's bestselling crime writers and has sold over twenty-five million copies of her books worldwide. She has won the CWA John Creasey Award, the Edgar Allan Poe Award, and two CWA Gold Daggers. The Swift and the Harrier is her third historical novel. She lives in Dorset with her husband.

Other books by this author at BookBrowse:

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.