The BookBrowse Review

Published January 22, 2020

ISSN: 1930-0018

printable version
This is a free edition of our twice-monthly magazine, The BookBrowse Review,
which is just one of the benefits of membership for the equivalent of just $3.25 a month.
Join | Renew | Library Subscriptions | Gift Memberships
Back    Next

Contents

In This Edition of
The BookBrowse Review

Highlighting indicates debut books

Editor's Introduction
Reviews
Hardcovers Paperbacks
First Impressions
Latest Author Interviews
Recommended for Book Clubs
Book Discussions

Discussions are open to all members to read and post. Click to view the books currently being discussed.

Publishing Soon

Novels


Historical Fiction


Short Stories/Essays


Poetry


Mysteries


Thrillers


Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Speculative, Alt. History


Biography/Memoir


History, Science & Current Affairs


Young Adults

Novels


Thrillers


Extras
Book Jacket

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
by Holly Jackson
4 Feb 2020
400 pages
Publisher: Delacorte Press
ISBN-13: 9781984896360
Genre: Thrillers
Critics:
mail to a friend   

For readers of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn't add up, and a girl who's determined to find the real killer--but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.

Everyone in Fairview knows the story.

Pretty and popular high school senior Andie Bell was murdered by her boyfriend, Sal Singh, who then killed himself. It was all anyone could talk about. And five years later, Pip sees how the tragedy still haunts her town.

But she can't shake the feeling that there was more to what happened that day. She knew Sal when she was a child, and he was always so kind to her. How could he possibly have been a killer?

Now a senior herself, Pip decides to reexamine the closed case for her final project, at first just to cast doubt on the original investigation. But soon she discovers a trail of dark secrets that might actually prove Sal innocent...and the line between past and present begins to blur. Someone in Fairview doesn't want Pip digging around for answers, and now her own life might be in danger.

This is the story of an investigation turned obsession, full of twists and turns and with an ending you'll never expect.

"Jackson's debut is well-executed and surprises readers with a connective web of interesting characters and motives...A treat for mystery readers who enjoy being kept in suspense." - Kirkus Reviews

"Jackson caps her suspenseful, well-plotted mystery with a few twists that readers likely won't see coming. Fans of Veronica Mars and its ilk will find plenty to enjoy in Jackson's assured debut." - Publishers Weekly

"A wonderful addition to any library collection, especially where mystery novels like Maureen Johnson's Truly Devious is popular." - School Library Journal

"Fun, gripping, and skillfully constructed." - Emily Arsenault, author of All the Pretty Things

Holly Jackson started writing stories from a young age, completing her first (poor) attempt at a novel aged fifteen. She graduated from the University of Nottingham with an MA in English, where she studied literary linguistics and creative writing. She lives in London and aside from reading and writing, she enjoys playing video games and watching true crime documentaries so she can pretend to be a detective. A Good Girl's Guide to Murder is her first novel.

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.