Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Daniel Isn't Talking

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Daniel Isn't Talking

by Marti Leimbach

Daniel Isn't Talking by Marti Leimbach X
Daniel Isn't Talking by Marti Leimbach
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2006, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2007, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to Daniel Isn't Talking

Print Review

About Autism: According to Autism Speaks, it is likely that throughout history people have lived with what are now known as autistic spectrum disorders, but the term was first used around 1911 by Swiss psychiatrist Eugen Bleuler.

Autism was first described as a specific condition by Dr Leo Kanner in 1943. The following year, Dr Hans Asperger published his paper on the 'high-functioning' form of autism that bears his name (some believe Einstein and Newton both had Asbergers). During the 1950s and '60s many doctors believed autism was a psychological disturbance caused by poor mothering. This theory was firmly crushed in the 1960s with the evidence that autism was a biological condition.

In 1994, the National Alliance for Autism Research, now merged with Autism Speaks, was established in the USA to fund biomedical research. In the mid 1990s genetic researchers began to link autism to abnormalities on certain chromosomes.

Many have posited a link between autism and childhood vaccinations containing the mercury-based preservative, thimerosal. A Danish study of more than 1/2 a million children found no increased risk for developing autism in the majority of the sample versus the one-fifth of children who had not been vaccinated. However, many argue that this does not close the case on thimerosol based vaccinations (such as the MMR) because it is possible that smaller sub-groups (such as those with chromosomal abnormalities) might be more susceptible than others. Also, other studies have found links between thimerosal and speech delays, ADD, hyperactivity and autism.

Added to this is the, perhaps, coincidental fact that since 1991, when the CDC and FDA recommended 3 additional vaccines containing thimerosal be given to very young children, the estimated number of cases of autism have increased fifteenfold, from one in every 2,500 children, to one in every 166.

This "beyond the book article" relates to Daniel Isn't Talking. It originally ran in April 2006 and has been updated for the May 2007 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.