Your one-stop resource forbooks that entertain, engage & enlighten.

  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Golden Hill

    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford

    BookBrowse Review
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a mysterious British stranger arriving in New York in 1746 to collect a debt owed by a...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Lisa Butts
    Read Review

    Guy Fawkes Night

    In one of the most memorable sequences in Golden Hill, the protagonist, Mr. Smith, attends a Guy Fawkes Night celebration that goes terribly awry after an effigy of the Pope is burned. Smith is taken for Catholic and pursued by an angry drunken mob. ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric

    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson

    BookBrowse Review
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010, we can still relate to the characters, because despite their differences, ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Erin Szczechowski
    Read Review

    Climate Fiction: A Glimpse into the Growing Genre

    In Midnight at the Electric, it is the year 2065, and teenager Adri is part of a carefully selected group departing Earth forever to live on Mars. Although the story takes place less than 50 years from now, massive planetary destruction has already ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket

    News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles

    BookBrowse Review
    Paulette Jiles brings the landscape of late 19th century Texas to life in this novel long-listed for the National Book Award about an unlikely friendship that is formed ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
    Read Review

    Late 19th Century Texas

    Paulette Jiles' News of the World takes place in late 19th century Texas. Much of the state's land was untamed and rugged, but in this time between the end of the Reconstruction and the beginning of the Progressive Era, Texas changed and grew, as did... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket

    The Velveteen Daughter
    by Laurel D. Huber

    BookBrowse Review
    Margery Williams Bianco was the author of one of the world's best-loved, classic children's books, The Velveteen Rabbit. Her daughter, Pamela Bianco, became a famous artist ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Davida Chazan
    Read Review

    Child Prodigies in Visual Art

    When we hear the phrase 'child prodigy,' our minds almost automatically go to Mozart and other musicians, and from there, towards young geniuses in the areas of mathematics and science. One of the shorter lists of child prodigies is in the visual ... Beyond the Book

This Week's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Smoke
  • Book Jacket: Behold the Dreamers
  • Book Jacket: The Force
  • Book Jacket: News of the World
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
  • Book Jacket: How to Set a Fire and Why
  • Book Jacket: Dinner with Edward
  • Book Jacket: The Noise of Time
  • Book Jacket: The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
  • Book Jacket: So Say the Fallen
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man

Find a book

Find Your Next Great Read!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Almost Sisters
    by Joshilyn Jackson

    A powerful, emotionally resonant novel of the South.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Members read and review books before they're published. See what they'll be reviewing soon.

  • Discuss this book
    Book Jacket

    The Nest

    A warm, funny and acutely perceptive debut novel about four adult siblings and the fate of the shared inheritance that has shaped their choices and their lives.

    Join the discussion!

More Discussions

  1.  245June:
    Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
  2.  257The Atomic Weight of Love:
    Elizabeth J. Church
  3.  310The One-in-a-Million Boy:
    Monica Wood

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Club Recommendations
Featured Book Club

featured bookclub

Recent Reader Reviews
  • Cruel Beautiful World
    by Caroline Leavitt

    Lucy, 16 and naive, runs away with her High School teacher. Their life together in an isolated, and isolating, rural area is not what Lucy expected. Lucy is portrayed...
    read more

  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
    by Gail Honeyman

    “Even the circus freak side of my face – my damaged half – was better than the alternative, which would have meant death by fire. I didn’t burn to ashes. I emerged from ...
    read more

  • Lily and the Octopus
    by Steven Rowley

    It's got an adorable dog. It's got a guy who loves the adorable dog. In addition, he named the dog Lily (as opposed to something like Schnitzel) because he knew the dog...
    read more

  • House of Names
    by Colm Toibin

    I tell you this man can take a muddy puddle and make you think it is a fresh spring shower!! I thought I was done with mythology back in college. I had two literature ...
    read more

  • Beneath a Marble Sky
    by John Shors

    John Shors was able to present a history lesson in a way that would make any person want to study the Taj Mahal. I am often surprised when people say they will only read...
    read more

  • Being Mortal
    by Atul Gawande

    This should be required reading for anyone over 30.....what Gwande has to say is important.....we are all mortal and at some point the effort to cure should be replaced ...
    read more

Give a BookBrowse Membership

A BookBrowse Membership is the ideal gift for your book loving friends and family.

Give a Gift Membership

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.