Your one-stop resource forbooks that entertain, engage & enlighten.

  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket

    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes

    BookBrowse Review
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First, I grunt or laugh or moan when things strike me. Second, with pen in hand,...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Donna Chavez
    Read Review

    The Cult of Personality

    Although, historically speaking, the Cult of Personality is not a new concept, modern technology has streamlined the process for creating it. By employing Twentieth Century print and visual media, leaders like Mao, Putin, Kim Jong-il and his son Kim ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket

    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta

    BookBrowse Review
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought or behavior are marked by a cloud of dark smoke manifesting their ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Lisa Butts
    Read Review

    London Fog

    Vyleta's Smoke draws inspiration from the very real issue of smog in Victorian London, the result of fog off the Thames river mixing with smoke from early industrialization and coal-burning fires in homes. This is hinted at when the novel's young ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Golden Hill

    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford

    BookBrowse Review
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a mysterious British stranger arriving in New York in 1746 to collect a debt owed by a...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Lisa Butts
    Read Review

    Guy Fawkes Night

    In one of the most memorable sequences in Golden Hill, the protagonist, Mr. Smith, attends a Guy Fawkes Night celebration that goes terribly awry after an effigy of the Pope is burned. Smith is taken for Catholic and pursued by an angry drunken mob. ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric

    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson

    BookBrowse Review
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010, we can still relate to the characters, because despite their differences, ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Erin Szczechowski
    Read Review

    Climate Fiction: A Glimpse into the Growing Genre

    In Midnight at the Electric, it is the year 2065, and teenager Adri is part of a carefully selected group departing Earth forever to live on Mars. Although the story takes place less than 50 years from now, massive planetary destruction has already ... Beyond the Book

This Week's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Smoke
  • Book Jacket: Behold the Dreamers
  • Book Jacket: The Force
  • Book Jacket: News of the World
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
  • Book Jacket: How to Set a Fire and Why
  • Book Jacket: Dinner with Edward
  • Book Jacket: The Noise of Time
  • Book Jacket: The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
  • Book Jacket: So Say the Fallen
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man

Find a book

Find Your Next Great Read!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Almost Sisters
    by Joshilyn Jackson

    A powerful, emotionally resonant novel of the South.
    Reader Reviews

Members read and review books before they're published. See what they'll be reviewing soon.

  • Discuss this book
    Book Jacket

    The Atomic Weight of Love

    In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife and Loving Frank, this resonant debut spans the years from World War II through the Vietnam War to tell the story of a woman whose ...

    Join the discussion!

More Discussions

  1.  176The Nest:
    Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney
  2.  245June:
    Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
  3.  310The One-in-a-Million Boy:
    Monica Wood

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Club Recommendations
Featured Book Club

featured bookclub

Recent Reader Reviews
  • News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles

    What an amazing story. Could not put it down! Capt. Jefferson Kyle Kidd takes on a captured 10 year old girl for a most dangerous trip in 1870 through Texas. Could not ...
    read more

  • Cruel Beautiful World
    by Caroline Leavitt

    Lucy, 16 and naive, runs away with her High School teacher. Their life together in an isolated, and isolating, rural area is not what Lucy expected. Lucy is portrayed...
    read more

  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
    by Gail Honeyman

    “Even the circus freak side of my face – my damaged half – was better than the alternative, which would have meant death by fire. I didn’t burn to ashes. I emerged from ...
    read more

  • Lily and the Octopus
    by Steven Rowley

    It's got an adorable dog. It's got a guy who loves the adorable dog. In addition, he named the dog Lily (as opposed to something like Schnitzel) because he knew the dog...
    read more

  • House of Names
    by Colm Toibin

    I tell you this man can take a muddy puddle and make you think it is a fresh spring shower!! I thought I was done with mythology back in college. I had two literature ...
    read more

  • Beneath a Marble Sky
    by John Shors

    John Shors was able to present a history lesson in a way that would make any person want to study the Taj Mahal. I am often surprised when people say they will only read...
    read more

Give a BookBrowse Membership

A BookBrowse Membership is the ideal gift for your book loving friends and family.

Give a Gift Membership

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.