Why do we say "His/her eyes are bigger than his/her stomach.

Well-Known Expressions

His/her eyes are bigger than his/her stomach

Meaning:

He or she has tried to consume more than can be handled.

Background:

Often referring to food consumption but can be used in reference to an excess in other regards. For example Gregory Titleman's America's Popular Proverbs and Sayings quotes Forbes magazine in 1984: "I got the feeling that Dick's eyes were bigger than his stomach," Hoffman explains. "He expanded too fast and invested some heavy dollars in new sites that didn't pay off."

The earliest known use is found in Euphues and His England, a didactic romance written by John Lyly in 1580 (didactic meaning instructional). Euphues derives from the Greek for "graceful, witty". The mannered and indirect style of Lyly's writing in Euphues gave rise to the term euphuism for writing that employed a deliberate excess of literary devices in order to show off classical learning and knowledge of all kinds. It came into fashion in the 1580s, particularly in the court of Elizabeth I, and apparently fell out of favor soon after. Shakespeare satirises the style in a number of plays including the florid language of the lovers in Love's Labour's Lost.

Do not confuse euphuism with euphemism, which both derive from the same Greek source but have different meanings. A euphemism is a seemingly innocuous word used in place of a more unpleasant term - such as an army "neutralizing" its enemy. Etymologically, eupheme is the opposite of blaspheme (evil-speach). The Greeks were fond of euphemisms. In fact, they used the term euphemism as a euphemism - meaning to keep a holy silence (that is to say, by speaking well by not speaking at all)!

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.