Why do we say "Promises are like pie crust, they are made to be broken.

Well-Known Expressions

Promises are like pie crust, they are made to be broken

Meaning:

Promises should not be trusted.

Background:

The first recorded use of this expression is by Ridens on Aug 16, 1681:

"He makes no more of breaking Acts of Parliaments, than if they were like Promises and Pie-crust, made to be broken."

The internet has little in the way of information on the life of Heraclitus Ridens but a glance at his writings shows him to have been an essayist, poet and satirist. The chances are that he was named for the pre-Socratic Greek philosopher Heraclitus of Ephesus.


Irish writer and satirist Jonathan Swift, however, popularized the expression in his 1738 book, Polite Conversation, and thus is often attributed with being the author of it:

Lady Smart: Ay, thou has a head and so has a pin. But my lord, all the town has it that Miss Caper is to be married to Sir Peter Giball; one thing is certain that she hath promis'd to have him.

Lord Sparkish: Why, Madam, you know promises are either broken or kept.

Lady A: I beg your pardon, my Lords, promises and pie-crust are made to be broken.

Polite Conversation consists of three satirical dialogues presented as a guide to "Genteel and Ingenious Conversation, According to the Most Polite Mode and Method Now Used at Court, and in the Best Companies of England". Some critics view the dialogues as transcripts of actual speech (albeit presumably somewhat honed in order to flow as complete dialogues).

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.