Why do we say "He who hesitates is lost.

Well-Known Expressions

He who hesitates is lost

Meaning:

Action leads to success; delay/self-doubt does not

Background:

Although it seems likely that the idea expressed in this idiom is older, the modern-day expression is an adaptation of a line in Joseph Addison's 1712 play Cato: "The woman that deliberates is lost."

Marcia.
I dare not think he will: but if he should —
Why wilt thou add to all the griefs I suffer
Imaginary ills, and fancied tortures?
I hear the sound of feet! they march this way!
Let us retire, and try if we can drown
Each softer thought in sense of present danger.
When love once pleas admission to our hearts
(In spite of all the virtue we can boast)
The woman that deliberates is lost.

Cato: A Tragedy: Act 4, Scene 1

English essayist, poet and playwright Joseph Addison (1672 – 1719) wrote Cato, arguably his best remembered work of fiction, in 1712. The play, which was published with a prologue written by Alexander Pope, is based on the last days of Marcus Porcius Cato Uticensis, generally known as Cato the Younger, to distinguish him from his great-grandfather, Marcus Porcius Cato (Cato the Elder)

Addison is also remembered for founding The Tatler and The Spectator. Addison and his long-time friend Richard Steele founded The Tatler in 1709 with the aim of publishing the news and gossip heard in London coffeehouses. While Steele and Addison's journal only lasted a couple of years, the various short-lived successors to it all considered themselves successors to it; as does the modern-day Tatler, established in 1901, which held a 300th anniversary party in 2009.

After closing The Tatler, Steele and Addison launched The Spectator. Its stated goal was "to enliven morality with wit, and to temper wit with morality ... to bring philosophy out of the closets and libraries, schools and colleges, to dwell in clubs and assemblies, at tea-tables and coffeehouses."

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.