Why do we say "Ships that pass in the night.

Well-Known Expressions

Ships that pass in the night

Meaning:

People who meet once and form a close bond, but never meet again

Background:

This saying originates from Henry Wadsworth Longfellow's poem "The Theologian's Tale", which forms part of Tales of a Wayside Inn, a collection of poems narrated in the voices of a group of people in the tavern of the Wayside Inn in Sudbury, Massachusetts - all contemporaries and friends of Longfellow. Although the narrators are not identified, many are so clearly characterized that they can be identified.

The Theologian's Tale is clearly identified as written from the point of view of Elizabeth Haddon (1680-1762). Haddon was born in England and set sail to the New World in 1701 as a single woman without family. Shortly after her arrival she made a marriage proposal to John Estaugh, a Quaker minister, and they were married in 1702. Their courtship is narrated in "The Theologian's Tale", also known as "Elizabeth":

Ships that pass in the night, and speak each other in passing,
Only a signal shown and a distant voice in the darkness;
So on the ocean of life we pass and speak one another,
Only a look and a voice, then darkness again and a silence.

"The Theologian's Tale" ("Elizabeth"), Stanza IV

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.