Excerpt from Sister Mine by Tawni O'Dell, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Sister Mine

A Novel

by Tawni O'Dell

Sister Mine by Tawni O'Dell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2007, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2008, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"What'd he say?"

"He said he thought you'd take the job."

"No, that's not what I mean. What'd he say about me?"

"He said he thought you'd take the job," he repeats.

The girl crawls inside the car and motions for her brother to follow. Once he's seated beside her she makes him fasten his seat belt but doesn't put on her own.

"What'd he really say about me?" I ask him.

A brief silence.

"He said you're attractive, although he didn't use the word 'attractive,' but I think that was the point he was trying to make."

"Does that make you more eager to have me drive you?"

"I doubt I'd be interested in you in that way."

"Why not? Are you gay? Faithful? Celibate? Impotent?"

"Picky."

"Fair enough," I say.

I'm trying to figure him out. His manner of speaking sounds almost rehearsed. There's not the slightest trace of any kind of a regional accent in his voice; he enunciates too well, and he uses very little inflection. He talks rapidly but he's also fond of dramatic pauses. He's sort of a cross between Captain Kirk and the guy who did the English voice-overs for all the old Kung Fu movies.

My guess is he grew up talking one way and puts a lot of effort into not talking that way anymore.

"Where are you exactly?" I ask him.

"I'm here at this ridiculous, godforsaken excuse for an airport."

"Harrisburg International?"

"International? You can't even fly to New York from here."

"That's true, but there's one flight to Canada."

Another silence.

"Can you pick me up or not?"

"Yeah. Sure. I can pick you up. You realize it's a two-hour drive?"

"Yes, I do. The other cab drivers enlightened me. Is it also true that there are no hotels in Jolly Mount?"

"The nearest motel would be in Centresburg, about thirty miles from here."

"Unbelievable."

"What's your name, sir?"

"Why do you need to know?"

"Because I'm about to invest four hours of my life and sixty dollars worth of gas on the assumption that you're going to be there when I show up. The least you can do in return is tell me your name."

He doesn't answer.

"Fine. I'll just call you Sparky."

"Gerald," he says sharply. "Gerald Kozlowski."

He hangs up.

I click my phone shut happily. A fare from the airport. Big bucks.

Then I notice the two little ones in my back seat.

"Sorry, kids," I tell them while opening the door and motioning for them to get out. "There's been a change in plans. I can't take you to the mall after all."

Kenny does what he's told. The girl glares at me.

"Why the hell not?"

"It was a bad idea to begin with, now that I think about it. If I take you to the mall then you're going to be stranded at the mall. How will you get home?"

She gets out and slams the door. She doesn't answer my question.

"Where is home anyway?" I keep after her. "And what are you doing out by yourself in the middle of town on a Saturday morning?"

"It ain't none of your business where our home is and we can be wherever we want to be. It's a free country."

"So I've been told."

She joins Kenny and takes up a stance next to him with her hands jabbed back on her hips. I notice her gaze flicker toward a red Radio Flyer wagon parked next to the front door of the convenience store.

"Well, I guess you can't live too far away if you pulled Kenny in a wagon," I comment. "Where are your parents?"

All I get from her in reply is hostile silence and sharp elbows.

Kenny gives me the sheep stare.

"Who are your parents?"

Nothing.

"Can I at least know your name?"

She thinks about it.

Excerpted from Sister Mine by Tawni O'Dell Copyright © 2007 by Tawni O'Dell. Excerpted by permission of Shaye Areheart Books, a division of Random House, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Do Not Become Alarmed
    Do Not Become Alarmed
    by Maile Meloy
    Full disclosure: I've never had any desire to go on a cruise. I start getting antsy and ...
  • Book Jacket: Priestdaddy
    Priestdaddy
    by Patricia Lockwood
    Patricia Lockwood is a poet and the daughter of Greg Lockwood, a Catholic priest. While Catholic ...
  • Book Jacket: Before We Sleep
    Before We Sleep
    by Jeffrey Lent
    Katey Snow, aged seventeen, leaves home one night. "There was a void within her and one that could ...

Win this book!
Win News of the World

News of the World

A brilliant work of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T's S I Numbers

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.