Excerpt from The Vacation by Polly Horvath, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Vacation

by Polly Horvath

The Vacation by Polly Horvath X
The Vacation by Polly Horvath
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Aug 2005, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"OW!" said Aunt Pigg, as much in amazement as anything else.

"No more Coke for you, Pigg," said Aunt Magnolia, not wasting anyone's time by apologizing. "It's a long haul to the motel."

"Ow!" said Aunt Pigg again, making her way back to the car.

I carefully found the coin return slot, retrieved the dime, and pocketed it. As yet I had no plan to effect my egress, but one never knew.

"In fact," said Aunt Magnolia, suddenly turning around on her heel and marching back to the Coke machine, "let's get back that dime." When it wasn't there after she pushed the coin return button, she pushed it several more times increasingly harder. Then she hit the machine and kicked it. A man finally came out of the museum and said, "Here, stop that."

"This machine ate my dime," said Aunt Magnolia. "Machine clearly states Cokes cost a buck fifty," said the man. "You can't get a Coke for a dime no more, lady."

"Yes, I know that, you nincompoop," said Aunt Magnolia. "I put a dime in and I changed my mind."

"How do I know that?" said the man. "How do I know you're not out there just trying to cadge dimes off museum owners? You wouldn't believe what we see in the tourist trade."

"I want my dime," said Aunt Magnolia. The man just turned around and went back into the museum. I felt like applauding. If he had given the dime to Aunt Magnolia, I would, of course, have had to come clean and return my dime to him. So I was doubly happy that he had not.

"Waste, Pigg. Waste, waste, waste," said Aunt Magnolia, getting back into the car. She put a beach towel over her head and said, "Drive."

It was a lovely first day on the road.

Excerpt from Vacation by Polly Horvath, pages 34-39. Copyright . 2005 by Polly Horvath. Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux, LLC in 2005. All rights reserved. Visitors to this web site are warned that this work is protected under copyright laws and reproduction is strictly prohibited. Permission to reproduce the material in any manner or medium must be secured from Farrar, Straus and Giroux, LLC.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.