Excerpt from The Ice Child by Elizabeth McGregor, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Ice Child

by Elizabeth McGregor

The Ice Child
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2001, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2002, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Jo held out her hand. "Jo Harper ... have I got the right house?"

The woman did not reach out her own hand. "What is it in connection with?"

"I've been speaking to Peter Bolton at the Academy," Jo said.

Alicia Marshall's face clouded. Her mouth turned down in an expression of distaste. "He sent you here?"

"No," Jo replied, "but I was speaking to him an hour ago. I'm from The Courier."

The mention of one of most prestigious British newspapers sometimes eased the way into a conversation like this one; if it was anything at all, it was at least a guarantee that any story would be intelligently handled. Jo expected to see a softening in Alicia Marshall's face.

Instead the other woman began to close the door.

"I was wondering if you could tell me about this trip," Jo said. "Why your husband went ... how you feel about such"--she hesitated for a second under the scathing gaze--"such adventures."

For the first time Alicia Marshall smiled. "Adventures?" she echoed.

"Have you heard from your husband?"

"No." The door caught a little on the flagstone floor of the hall- way. Alicia pushed it hard.

"You've heard nothing at all? Since he left?"

"No. Now please--"

Jo put her hand on the door frame. "Are you separated?" she asked.

Alicia Marshall gave Jo a lingering look. Then, "You people," she said at last, contempt in her voice.

"Would you speak to me about him?" Jo persisted.

"Please take your hand from the door."

"Are you worried?"

"No."

"I'm sorry? You're not worried at all?"

Mrs. Marshall stared pointedly at Jo's hand.

"Do you think he's alive?" Jo asked.

"I really have no idea."

Astonished at her tone, Jo dropped her hand.

Alicia Marshall shut the door in her face.

For some time Jo remained where she was, staring at the heavy iron knocker. Behind her the rain pattered down through the magnolia. Turning, she glanced up and saw the drops forming on the first half-opened petals on the naked branches.

"Not worried," she murmured.

Past the tree a field stretched away to a patch of woodland. Nothing stirred in the landscape at all, not a blade of grass, nothing in the blue blur of the distant city. It was a picture book, with Douglas Marshall's house delicately penciled in the foreground.

Jo wondered what had happened here, to make a wife want to seem careless of a husband's life or death. And suddenly she felt very sorry indeed for Douglas Marshall.

And very interested indeed in what had taken him away from home.

Copyright 2001, Elizabeth McGregor. All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced without written permission from the publisher - Dutton Books.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.