Excerpt from The Ice Child by Elizabeth McGregor, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Ice Child

by Elizabeth McGregor

The Ice Child
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2001, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2002, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Gina's first thought had been that Jo hardly looked painfully young. She was, as Gina's mother would have said, five foot five of fresh air--thin, almost scrawny; antsy with impatience; quick to humor, quick to anger. Her smile hid a sharp, ironic mind. She stuck out her hand that first day and shook Gina's with a fierce grip. It had been quite a job to get her to sit down, such was her enthusiasm to get going.

Sitting now in the city center, looking at her, Gina smiled to herself behind the newspaper page. Jo was stretched out in her chair, eyes closed and turned to the sun. For a second she looked the perfect picture of relaxation. Until she opened one eye, yawned, and tapped the newspaper in Gina's grasp.

"What's the opposition say?" she asked, ruffling her hair and wriggling upright in her seat.

"Nothing radical," Gina said. "Except for that." She held open the paper at the third page. Jo shielded her eyes against the sun and looked at the article.

There was a map on the top right-hand corner--an indented coastline and contour lines of mountains that ran down to the sea.

"What is it?" she asked.

"Greenland," Gina said. "You know Douglas Marshall?"

Jo had to think for a second. "Give me a clue."

"BBC Two."

A long moment went by. "Gardening," Jo guessed at last.

"Not even close," Gina said. "Archaeology. Far Back."

"Ah," Jo acknowledged. "Lots of running about with bits of pottery. Which one was Marshall?" she asked.

"The tall hairy one."

"They were all hairy."

"The smiling one. The ship expert."

"Oh, him." Jo vaguely remembered a tall man, habitually dressed in a battered leather jacket. Not a good color. Dirty red. Faded flash.

"What's happened to him?"

"He's lost."

"What, there?" Jo asked, glancing at the map.

"In the land of ice and snow, uh-huh."

Jo took the page from Gina and took a second to skim the article. Douglas Marshall had been reported missing while on an archaeological trip in one of the most inhospitable landscapes on earth. She sighed heavily. "This guy's gone on some harebrained personal mission in a snowstorm, and now we're supposed to all go out and find him," she said. She pointed to the final paragraph of the article. "Look, they've actually sent a bloody frigate. What a waste of money."

Gina frowned at her. "You don't mean that."

"I do," Jo countered. "The expense! What has he gone there for, really? Personal glory. Some obsession or other, I bet."

"You cynic!" "It's true," Jo retorted. "I mean, it's like these other idiots who cross Siberia in a balloon, or something. Hang-gliding down Everest, whatever. It's comic-book stuff."

Gina took the page back from her. "Actually," she said, "it's an academic exercise. An expedition."

"Same thing."

"But he could be dying, Jo!"

"Did we ask him to do it?"

"We have to do something."

"Send out the fleet?"

"Yeah, send out the fleet, why not? He's a British subject."

Jo burst out laughing. "What ho," she said. "Wave the flag." She looked away, down toward the traffic.

"So ... what's the alternative?" Gina asked. "Let him freeze?"

"Yes," Jo said. And she almost meant it.



Jo had almost forgotten the conversation when she went into The Courier the following Tuesday. It was ten o'clock, and the building was already busy. She put her head around Gina's door, just to wave hello.

"Hey, come here," Gina called.

"I'm going up to the clippings library," Jo said.

"In a minute," Gina replied. "Sit."

Jo did so. "What is it?" she asked. "Something good? Send me to Cannes, Gina. Look at me. I'll die if I don't get sun."

Copyright 2001, Elizabeth McGregor. All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced without written permission from the publisher - Dutton Books.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.