Excerpt from Coming Back To Me by Caroline Leavitt, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Coming Back To Me

by Caroline Leavitt

Coming Back To Me
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2001, 306 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2003, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Gary starts to say, Oh, I'm dying for some, and then stops. A phrase as simple as that, and he can't say it. It feels as if a layer has been pulled off his life. He's scared all the time. And he keeps thinking: What happens now?

But the thing is, no one knows what is wrong with Molly. She went in to have a routine delivery of Otis, and three weeks, five operations, and two near deaths later, still no one knows. They keep her anesthetized so she won't feel what is happening to her. Sometimes when he comes to see her, he wonders if she is imagining that he's left her, if he's dead, because she hasn't seen him, not for days, not for what seems like months, when the truth is, he is always there. "Honey," he says. Her eyes flutter open and then shut again, and she doesn't hear him, she doesn't see. It is as if there were a wall separating them, a wall he would smash with his own hands if he could just find it. "I'll wrap some pie up for later," Patsylu suddenly says. "So you can have something sweet later."

Gary pays Patsylu, overtipping her as usual, and bundles Otis up in his arms. "Bye, bye, sweetie pie," Patsylu says, and for one moment, he can't tell if she is talking to him or to the baby. He opens the front door, careful of Otis, and steps out into a nudging unseasonable chill.

Copyright Caroline Leavitt. All rights reserved. Reproduced by the permission of the author.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.