Excerpt from Cold Paradise by Stuart Woods, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cold Paradise

by Stuart Woods

Cold Paradise
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2001, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2002, 432 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Chapter 1

ELAINE'S LATE. Stone Barrington finished his osso buco as Elaine wandered over from another table and sat down.

"So?" she asked.

"'So?' What kind of question is that?"

"It means, 'tell me everything.'"

Stone looked up to see Dino struggling to shut the front door behind him. Dino was his former partner, now a lieutenant, head of the detective squad at the 19th Precinct.

Dino came over, sloughing off a heavy topcoat. "Jesus," he said, hanging up his coat, muffler and hat. "There's already six inches of snow out there, and there's at least thirty knots of wind."

"How are we going to get home?" Stone wondered aloud.

"Don't worry, my driver's out there now, putting the chains on the car." Dino now rated a car and driver from the NYPD.

Stone shook his head. "Poor bastard. It's tough enough being a cop without drawing you for a boss."

"What do you mean?" Dino demanded, offended. "The kid's getting an education working for me. They don't teach this stuff at the academy."

"What, how to put chains on a lieutenant's car?"

"All he has to do is watch me, and he learns."

Stone rolled his eyes, but let this pass. They drank their champagne in silence for a moment.

"So?" Dino asked, finally.

"That's what I just asked him," Elaine said.

"So, I'm back." Stone had returned from an extended stay in LA a few days before.

"I knew that," Dino said. "So?"

"Can't either of you speak in complete sentences?"

"So," Dino said, "how's Mrs. Barrington?"

"Dino," Stone said, "if you're going to start calling her that, I'm going to start carrying a gun."

"I heard," Elaine said.

"I'm not surprised," Stone replied. "Dino has a big mouth."

"So, how is she?" Dino demanded.

"I talked to Eduardo today," Stone said. "Her shrink doesn't want me to see her. Not for a while."

"That's convenient," Dino said.

"You bet it is," Stone agreed.

"You feeling guilty, Stone?" Elaine asked.

"Sure he is," Dino said. "If he had just taken my advice..."

"Mine, too," Elaine echoed.

"All right, all right," Stone said. "If I had only taken your advice."

"Arrington is for you," Elaine said.

"Arrington isn't exactly speaking to me," Stone said.

"What does that mean?"

"It means that if I call her, she's civil, but if I try to reason with her, she excuses herself and hangs up."

"How's the boy?" Dino asked.

"Peter's fine."

"Does he know who his father is yet?"

"Look, Dino, I don't know who his father is. It could just as well have been Vance as me. Not even Arrington knows. Nobody will, until we do the DNA testing."

"And when does that happen?"

"Arrington won't discuss it."

"Keep after her."

"I don't know if it's worth it," Stone said wearily. "I'm not sure it would make any difference."

"Give her time," Dino said. "She'll come around."

"You're a font of wisdom, Dino. Know any other relationship clichés?"

"Every eligible man in the country is going to be after her," Elaine said.

"What?" Stone asked.

"She's Vance Calder's widow, dummy, and as such, she's very, very rich. Not to mention gorgeous. You'd better get your ass down to Virginia and win her back."

"She knows where to find me," Stone said.

Elaine rolled her eyes.

Another blast of frigid air blew into the room as the front door opened again.

"It's your pal Eggers," Dino said, nodding toward the door.

Bill Eggers came over to the table. He didn't unbutton his coat. "Hi, Elaine, hi, Dino," he said, then he turned to Stone. "I've been calling you all evening. I should have known I'd find you here." Bill Eggers was the managing partner of Woodman & Weld, the extremely prestigious law firm with which Stone was associated, in a very quiet way.

Copyright Stuart Woods 2001. All rights reserved. Reproduced by the permission of the publisher, Putnam Publishing.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.