Excerpt from Mind, Body and Soul by Nancy H. Dahm, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Mind, Body and Soul

A Guide To Living With Cancer

by Nancy H. Dahm

Mind, Body and Soul
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Jan 2001, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Includes:

  • Introduction
  • Foreword
  • Table of Contents
  • Chapter 9

Introduction

"I feel I know you very well. You don’t know me, but I have watched you. I have walked your journey many times before. You don’t know me, yet I was there…Mind, Body, and Soul".

I have dealt with the entire spectrum of cancer and its effects on the minds, bodies and souls of hundreds of cancer patients and their families. I wrote this book so that you can benefit from the knowledge and experience I have acquired over the years. It contains everything you need to know about living with cancer. It is a guide for everyone: all patients, beginning with the newly diagnosed, and all family members. It is for the cancer patients who will recover and survive, and for those who will survive in another way.

For the newly diagnosed cancer patient, I know you have a host of questions you want answered, starting with the most basic: will you get the support you need? Can you trust your doctor to "be there" for you? Will your insurer impose restrictions on your treatment? How will you be able to control your anxiety, stress, and fears? What about the pain? Can it be eliminated or controlled? And what about the bigger picture —who are you, deep down? Is there really a soul that is eternal?

Mind, Body, and Soul is an encompassing approach to cancer that will help all of you find the answers to the crucial questions. Just as importantly, it will help you deal with immense difficulties you face. You will learn what can be done to make your lives better. I will answer your questions, discuss choices, and give you the information needed to empower yourself in making decisions that are right for you. I will cover the physical, psychological, and spiritual aspects of cancer and provide solutions that are practical and at times philosophical in nature.

You and your family will journey with me through what lies ahead. I am going to show you how it is to live with cancer for most people, and how much better it can be for you. Knowledge is strength, after all. I promise I will make you strong.

Foreword
Paul Browde, M.D. Psychiatrist,
Faculty, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Imagine that at a moment, on some day, at no particular time, you or I or someone we love is diagnosed with cancer. This moment changes your or my life forever. Our world is turned upside down as we hurtle through space, disoriented with fear, unable to think clearly. What are we to do first? Who do we turn to? How do we cope?

Imagine now a nurse who has worked with hundreds of people in this situation. A nurse who loves her patients, and has learned from their experiences. A nurse who takes us by the hand and leads us on a journey of discovery, about cancer, what it is, how to live with it, and if necessary, how to die from it. Mind, Body, and Soul is such a journey, and Nancy Hassett Dahm is that very nurse. It is a personal journey, informed by her life and her work, enriched by the stories of the people whose lives have touched her. Ultimately it is an inspiring, comforting, and important journey for all of us, no matter who we are or what we do.

For some of us, a cancer diagnosis will mean a series of long and sometimes difficult treatments. It may require having to negotiate systems, and redefining the way that we see ourselves: accepting help from others in ways we never have; being more assertive than we are used to; dealing with changes in our bodies; and coping with feelings of need, embarrassment, and even humiliation.

Some of us will have great success with the treatment, and will continue to live healthy and happy lives for many years to come, while others of us will die. If it becomes clear that we are going to die, how do we do so free of pain, with dignity and love?

Copyright Nancy Hassett Dahm October 2000. All rights reserved.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.