Excerpt from Spooked by Adam Penenberg, Marc Barry, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Spooked

Espionage in Corporate America

by Adam Penenberg, Marc Barry

Spooked
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Dec 2000, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2001, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Lee, a naturalized American citizen who got his Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from Texas Tech, and a Masters of Science degree in Polymer Science from the University of Akron, pilfered 10 formulas from Avery, passing them to Four Pillars. An expert in methods to make pressure-sensitive adhesives stick to various surfaces under different conditions, Lee even used Avery Dennison labs to compare and test Four Pillars products against Avery's, then offered advice on how his adopted company could improve its wares to compete more effectively. This earned him additional income and the one thing he seemed to crave more than anything: respect. It also catapulted him into a heap of trouble, from which he tried to extricate himself by becoming a "flipper," someone who cooperates with the law to avoid prosecution or lessen any potential penalties.

Just before packing up to leave, Yang unwittingly mentioned an FBI sting he’d heard about. Three months earlier, a Bureau operation run out of the Four Seasons Hotel in Philadelphia resulted in the arrest of two Taiwanese nationals working for the Yuen Foong Paper Co. LTD, both who had ties to the Taiwanese government. They were charged with attempting to buy Bristol-Myers' process for bioengineering the anticancer drug Taxol for $400,000, a bargain if they had gotten away with it, since the information was worth billions. Not surprisingly, the case attracted a lot of media coverage in Taiwan.

America, Sally pointed out, now "has a special division to catch business spies."

"I am a very careful person," Yang said. "Whatever I get I get rid of immediately. I don't like to make phone calls, so [Sally] called you, but I wouldn't. When you come to Taipei it would be all right to meet you to talk. You can collect or get some new samples, or the new research trends. Whatever tomorrow's product, we have to develop it earlier...We do not need to copy the thing. We can modify it."

Yang looked around the room one last time: "We didn't forget anything?" he asked. They slipped out, and Lee drove them to Cleveland Hopkins International Airport. He had played his part perfectly. He had been the model stool pigeon. Neither Yang nor Sally noticed the car trailing them to the airport, nor, when they arrived at the departures terminal, the two cars holding federal agents already parked by Continental Airlines.

Lee said his goodbyes, let them out of the car, dropped their luggage at the curb—to the end, the dutiful servant—and agents swooped in for the arrest.

From Spooked: Espionage in Corporate America, by Adam L. Penenberg, Marc Barry. © December 5, 2000 , Adam L. Penenberg, Marc Barry. Used by permission of the publisher

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.