Excerpt from Creeker by Linda Scott DeRosier, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Creeker

A Woman's Journey

by Linda Scott DeRosier

Creeker
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 1999, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2002, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


I am told that the reason the map and post office names are not the names folks who live there call them is that, way back when, government officials came through the area attaching names to places. Since the residents of those communities were mostly illiterate, the feds refused to call the places by the names common folk called them. This appears to me to be indicative of the power and credibility given my Appalachian forebears by all those well-meaning, philanthropic folk who came from Washington and the northeast to reach down and protect us from our own ignorance. That reaching-down-to-help-us-out attitude is, perhaps more than any other factor, what funded my pursuit of advanced degrees.

I should point out that I did not know all these things about schooling or letters such as M.A. and Ph.D. until some years after I completed my first degree and after I had come to a place where I could see the result of some of my earlier choices in life, choices made without the benefit of letters or the understanding represented by those letters. With a bunch of letters after your name, folks may still look down on you; but, since you know what they think about you while they don't know what you think about them, you win. The key to it all is to know the lower limit of your reputation, because you don't ever want anyone to be thinking you are worse than you think people think you are. That perspective on the world may well be what led me to psychology in the first place. Coupled with philosophy and literature, it seemed to give me some small handle on the human condition, hence a better likelihood that I could decipher what people were thinking. And that perspective had its beginnings on Two-Mile Creek in Johnson County, about as far east as you can wander and still be in Kentucky.

I want to take you back home with me to see the range of colors of the trees in autumn, when the whole country smells of wood smoke and leaves and apple butter; to see the mist that hangs in the valleys in the mornings and the glitter of the dew on spiderwebs as the sun creeps over the tops of the trees. I used to lie on my belly on the faded wooden bridge that crossed the creek by my house and stare at the water until it seemed that the bridge was moving instead of the creek. As the water streamed past me, I would imagine that I was going on a big ship to someplace exciting.

Every time I have steamed into port in some far-flung, exotic place, I have thought about my bridge and my creek and the path that led me from there to here. Seems to me that it's time for me to mark that path, so I want to take you back to Two-Mile and the well box and the bridge and the church house and the graveyard and the rock cliff and the coal bank and . . . and. . . .

Copyright Linda Scott Derosier. Published with the permission of the publisher, The University of Kentucky Press.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.