Excerpt from A Gathering of Spies by John Altman, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Gathering of Spies

by John Altman

A Gathering of Spies
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2000, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2001, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Perhaps it was."

"Are you telling me, Andrew, that you can't tell me what you do because of my politics?"

"I'm telling you that I need to be very careful with what I tell you, old chap, because of your politics. In fact, I'm taking quite a risk just by meeting with you."

"So I should be flattered."

"You should be."

"Then I am. I'm sincerely flattered. Now, tell me: What can I do for you?"

"Same old Winterbotham," Taylor said. "Too impatient for his own good."

"Same old Taylor," Winterbotham answered. "Too fond of games for the sake of games."

"We're living in a new age now, Harry. We're fighting a new kind of war. Games are what we do."

Winterbotham waited for elaboration.

"We're always looking for qualified men," Taylor said, "to help us win the games we play."

"What sort of games, exactly?"

"Ah!" Taylor smacked his hands together. "That's the rub, isn't it? The nature of the game is the game. I can't tell you anything without telling you everything. And I can't tell you everything, old chap, until I'm satisfied that you're on our side-completely."

Winterbotham drained the mug in his hand. "My time may be worthless these days," he said, "but it's all the time I have. You know whose side I'm on, Andrew. Get to the point."

"You don't understand, Harry. If I tell you what we're up to, here, then there's no turning back. Either you're with us or you're not. And if you're not..." He hesitated, looking at the fire.

"If I'm not?"

"If I choose to bring you into this and it doesn't work out, you could not be allowed to ... remain at liberty."

"I see."

"And I've no wish to deny you your liberty, old chap."

"Of course not."

"So I would need to be absolutely certain, before I could tell you any more, that you are the right man for the job-that you will do whatever is required of you."

"I suppose," Winterbotham said, "that I couldn't promise that until I knew what would be required of me, could I?"

Taylor shook his head. "That won't do."

"It's the best I can offer."

"Then I've wasted your time. I'm sorry to have brought you out here. Although I did enjoy the game."

He stood up suddenly and began to move toward the front door, leaving his drink by the chessboard.

"I'll have Fredricks take you back. And I'd appreciate it if you didn't mention-"

"This is hardly fair, Andrew."

"What?"

"You can't expect me to offer my services if I don't know what I'm volunteering for."

"Perhaps not. Well, then, I'm sorry to have-"

"Surely you can give me a clue."

"I'm afraid not."

He opened the front door, paused, and then turned to look at Winterbotham.

"Have a think on it, Harry," he suggested. "Colonel Fredricks will give you my card. Ring me if you change your mind."

Winterbotham looked back at him for a moment, without moving. Then he stood, formally, and buttoned his tweed jacket. He stepped out past Taylor without saying a word, and made for the car by the side of the road.

Taylor closed the door behind him.

The man who had been listening from the next room stepped in.

"I told you," the man said, "he doesn't want to have anything to do with it. He just wants to sit it out."

Taylor shook his head. "Bloody hell," he said.

Reprinted from A Gathering of Spies by John Altman by permission of Putnam Pub. Group, a member of Penguin Putnam Inc. Copyright (c) 2000 by John Altman. All rights reserved. This excerpt, or any parts thereof, may not be reproduced in any form without permission.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.