Excerpt from Flight of Eagles by Jack Higgins, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Flight of Eagles

by Jack Higgins

Flight of Eagles
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 1998, 328 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 1999, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


And then the static cleared and a voice echoed strong and true. "This is Royal National Lifeboat Institution, Cold Harbour. Zec Acland speaking. No way you're going to land here, girl. Can't see my hand in front of my face.

For Dupont, this was the final straw. He gave a sudden moan, seemed to convulse, and his head lolled to one side.

The plane lurched down, but Denise took control and gradually leveled it out. I leaned over and felt for a pulse in his neck.

"It's there, but it's weak Looks like a heart attack."

I pushed him away from her. She said calmly, "Take the life jacket from under his seat and put it on him, then do the same for yourself."

She put the 310 on automatic and pulled on her own life jacket. I took care of Dupont and struggled into mine.

"Are we going into the drink?"

"I don't think we've got much choice." She took manual control again.

I tried to be flippant, a personal weakness. "But it's March. I mean, far too cold in the water."

"Just shut up! This is business," she said, and spoke again as we went down. "RNLI, Cold Harbour. I'll have to ditch. Pilot seems to have had a heart attack."

That strong voice sounded again. "Do you know what you're doing, girl?"

"Oh, yes. One other passenger."

"I've already notified Royal Navy Air Sea rescue, but not much they can do in this pea-souper. The Cold Harbour lifeboat is already at sea and I'm on board. Give me a position as accurately as you can."

Fortunately, the plane was fitted with a Global Positional System, satellite-linked, and she read it off. "I'll go straight down," she said.

"By God, you've got guts, girl. We'll be there, never fear."

My wife often discusses her flying with me, so I was aware of the problems in landing a fixed-wing light twin aircraft in the sea. You had to approach with landing gear retracted and full flaps and reasonable power, a problem with one engine dead.

Light winds and small waves, land into the wind; heavy wind and big waves, land parallel to the crests. But we didn't know what waited down there. We couldn't see.

Denise throttled back and we descended, and I watched the altimeter. One thousand, then five hundred. Nothing-not a damn thing-and then at a couple of hundred feet, broken fog, the sea below, small waves, and she dropped us into the wind.

  • 1
  • 2

Copyright © 1998 by Higgins Associates Ltd. All rights reserved. This excerpt reproduced with the permission of G P Putnam & Sons. This book, or parts thereof, may not be reproduced in any form without permission

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.