Excerpt from Cuba by Stephen Coonts, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cuba
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 1999, 390 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2000, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Of course, 'business as usual' is an ambiguous phrase," Toad mused. "If anything goes wrong you can be blamed for not doing enough or doing too much, whichever way the wind blows."

Jake Grafton snorted. "If a bunch of wild-eyed terrorists lay hands on those warheads, Tarkington, you and I will be fried, screwed, and tattooed regardless of what we did or didn't do. We'll have to will our bodies to science."

"What about the CO of the cruiser, Admiral? What do we tell him?"

"Draft a top-secret message directing him to keep his people ready to shoot."

"Aye, aye, sir."

"Nuestra Senora de Colon is sailing this evening for Norfolk. Have a destroyer accompany her until she is well out of Cuban waters."

"Yo." Toad was making notes on a small memo pad he kept in his hip pocket.

"And have the weather people give me a cloud-cover prediction for the next five days, or as far out as they can. I want to try to figure out what, if anything, the satellites might be seeing."

"You mean, are they keeping an eye on the Cuban military?"

"Or terrorists. Whoever."

"I'll take care of it, sir."

"I'm going to run a couple laps around the deck," Jake Grafton added.

"May I suggest putting a company of marines ashore to do a security survey of the base perimeter? Strictly routine."

"That sounds feasible," Jake Grafton said. "Tonight let's ask the base commander what he thinks."

"Yessir."

"Terrorists or the Cuban Army--wanna bet ten bucks? Take your pick."

"I only bet on sure things, sir, like prizefights and Super Bowls, occasionally a cockroach race."

"You're wise beyond your years, Toad," the admiral tossed over his shoulder as he headed for the hatch.

"That's what I tell Rita," Toad shot back. Rita Moravia was his wife.

Jake Grafton didn't hear the rest of Toad's comment. "And wisdom is a heavy burden, let me tell you. Real heavy. Sorta like biological warheads." He put the binoculars to his eyes and carefully studied the naval base.

Copyright (c) 1999 Stephen Coonts. All Rights Reserved

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.