Excerpt from I Shall Be Near To You by Erin Lindsay McCabe, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

I Shall Be Near To You

by Erin Lindsay McCabe

I Shall Be Near To You
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2014, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2014, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


' 'You marry me then,' I say, and I ain't even scared.

'What?' he says, his back straight as the steeple.

'Marry me. If you aim to go off and fight, well I don't aim to be a spinster. You make me your widow before you go off and die, that's what.'

'I don't aim to die,' he says, eyes gone all to pupil, arrowhead shiny.

'You do this, you might as well. Mr. Waite, he's gone for sure. You want to be like him?'

'Rosetta,' he says, 'You know a man's got to—'

'A man!' I say, pulling my hand away. 'You kiss me by the creek and make me think things and plan on leaving the whole time?'

He looks down, his jaw clenched. 'Rosetta, it's good money,' he says, meeting my glare, taking up my hand again. 'You know when I get back, we'll have money enough for Nebraska, get ourselves that farm—'

'No,' I say to him. 'No more dream talk. Don't you leave me here like nothing. You marry me. Next Sunday. Or the week after. I don't care when. But you do it before you go and join. Because if you don't—' I can't even say it.

'Don't cry,' he says, reaching for the handkerchief in his pocket.

'You just marry me,' I tell him, wiping my eyes with the back of my hand before walking past the boys, ignoring Sully and Henry pulling faces as I go back to Mama and Betsy.


Betsy's breathing is so loud and my mind won't quit.

All day I waited, but Jeremiah ain't come by to help Papa fix tools or make rope like he always does. And me, staring out the window and slamming doors and clattering dishes the whole time 'til Mama threw me out of the kitchen for giving Betsy fits.

I kick off the quilts, sliding away from Betsy and the warmth coming off her. The floorboards are cold but I go to the window. Nothing. Not a thing but snow outside and my breath turning to mist against the inside of that window.

Out there in the dark, the creek winds through the trees to our back fence line, to where it crosses over onto the Snyders' land. The creek is where I first learned something of Jeremiah besides his name and that he didn't read good for being two years older, the first time Eli got to bothering me on account of our papas' quarreling. I was feeling easy that day, outside our grieving house, proud that Papa was trusting me with a job so grown up.

The water rippled past my shins, the trout darted past my ankles. But fishing always ends in pounding heads with rocks. My pail sat on the squishy mud by the bank of the creek, four trout in there, brushing the sides with their silver-brown tails. My toes old-man wrinkled from being in the creek since first light. Eli came crashing through the bushes behind me, his face red like a dried apple, and his friends, boys whose papas sometimes did day labor for Mr. Snyder, hanging back in the bushes, ready to run.

'You can't fish here,' Eli told me.

'I can fish anywhere I want. You don't own this creek,' I said, wondering if I should run or swim or scream, and standing frozen like a deer instead.

'My Papa owns the pool where those fish hatched, and these fish are mine,' he said.

When he picked up my pail I screamed, 'No! Those fish are for my Mama! She's sick!' but he dumped my four brown trout in the calm water by the bank. They looked sad and stiff bobbing there in the water and I wanted to be everywhere at once, saving my fish before they floated away, pounding Eli's head. Instead I ran at him, clumsy in the water, and stabbed into his belly with my pole. I didn't know that was a mistake until too late.

Excerpted from I Shall Be Near to You by Erin Lindsay McCabe Copyright © 2014. Excerpted by permission of Crown Trade, an imprint of the Crown Publishing Group, a division of Penguin Random House, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Rose O'Neale Greenhow

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.