Excerpt from Anything That Moves by Dana Goodyear, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Anything That Moves

Renegade Chefs, Fearless Eaters, and the Making of a New American Food Culture

by Dana Goodyear

Anything That Moves
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Nov 2013, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2014, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Under Picard, Dufour learned to cook red deer, venison, bison. Au Pied du Cochon avoided serving beef, which it saw as the product of a wasteful, unwholesome industry. Although the restaurant did not serve horse, he began to wonder about it. The stuff he'd eaten as a kid had not been good; as a chef, he wondered if he could make it delicious. "It has long ribs so you can do a very Flintstoneish rack that's kind of cool," he said. He played around with tartare, a classic presentation—and the Tartars ate their horses, too. Ultimately, he decided that the leanness of the meat made it ideal for charcuterie.

In the spring of 2012, Dufour, by this time living in New York, was invited to participate in the Great Googa-Mooga, a food festival in Prospect Park. "It's supposed to be the big foodie happening, so let's see how far foodies can go," Dufour recalled thinking. He sourced some horse from a friend with a slaughterhouse in Canada, and obtained permission from Customs, the U.S.D.A., and the local health authorities to bring it in. His booth, which he decorated with a horse cutout—you could stick your head through and get a picture taken—was in Tony's Corner, an area overseen by Anthony Bourdain. His offering, a grilled horse-bologna, cheddar, and foie-gras sandwich, was a test of foodie identity. "The foodies got torn. 'Should I go for horse meat or should I not be a foodie?' " he said. Five thousand of them went for it. The event proved to many that foodie culture, as Jonathan Gold posited, had in fact attained the status of rock-and-roll—scant food, long lines, complaints of "clusterfuck"—and when the V.I.P. section ran out of food, they came to Dufour to beg for horse.

For Dufour, the bologna was exploratory; he wanted to see what the public could tolerate. He was happily surprised. "They loved us so much," he said. "I was like, 'New Yorkers are great. They have no problem with horse meat. Let's do it.' " Soon afterward, he announced that he would serve horse tartare at M. Wells Dinette, the new restaurant he was opening at P.S. 1 in Queens, and he found himself fielding angry calls from people questioning his right to remain in the United States. Then the head of the health department called him and told him that Bruce Springsteen, whose daughter is an equestrian and was part of a campaign that got horse meat banned in New Jersey, didn't want him serving horse. "O.K.," Dufour said. "I understand who's the boss." He wrote a statement saying that he would drop the tartare from the menu. His intention, he wrote, had been to "offer customers new things," beyond the trinity of beef-chicken-pork. "It was certainly not our intent to insult American culture. However, it must be said, part of living in a city like New York means learning to tolerate different customs." Then he invited his critics to come in for a drink "and a bite of whatever animal they do consume (if any)"—foie gras bread pudding, escargot and bone marrow, blood pudding.

Haute cuisine, these days, can sometimes look like the dumpster of a taxidermy shop. A few years ago, Dave Arnold, the mop-haired food pioneer who runs the Culinary Technology department at the International Culinary Institute, published a piece in Popular Science called "Why I Eat Lion and Other Exotic Meats." "As the food revolution continues to gain traction, our ancestral lust for robust, unusual meats is starting to spark and reawaken," he wrote, and provided recipes for sous vide yak, bear, and lion steak ("57°C for 24 hours. Tastes like pork but richer."). Later, he was horrified to discover that his source—the owner of Czimer's, outside Chicago, which supplies much of the beaver, bear, and lion served in America—had several years before plead guilty to illegally selling numerous endangered tigers, including two Bengals; and an endangered black spotted leopard from the Funky Monkey Animal Park in Crete, Illinois. The meat, unloaded from a van into a back building, sometimes late at night, was, needless to say, not inspected by U.S.D.A.; according to the plea agreement, one of the animals, a liger—a lion-tiger cross—was shot and killed in a trailer in the parking lot. Czimer's sold much of this illegal meat as "lion."

Excerpted from Anything That Moves by Dana Goodyear. Copyright © 2013 by Dana Goodyear. Excerpted by permission of Riverhead Books. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Raw Food Movement

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.