Excerpt from Flight From Berlin by David John, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Flight From Berlin

A Novel

by David John

Flight From Berlin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2012, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2013, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


'You're from New York?'

'Queens,' said Olive.

'Los Angeles,' said Marjorie, chewing.

'Town girls, thank God,' Eleanor said, sitting on the bed and testing the springs. 'I was worried I'd be with some of our sisters from Ass-End, Nowhere.'

Olive's laugh sounded like an old windscreen wiper. 'So what's it like singing?' the girl asked. 'With a dance orchestra, I mean.'

'As a career I wouldn't recommend it,' Eleanor said, taking a Chesterfield from a tortoiseshell case and lighting it. 'Late nights, loose ladies giving your husband the eye, and the perpetual disappointment of your father... But I guess it's taught me to hold my liquor.'

Marjorie tittered behind her hand.

'Your father opened my school,' said Olive. 'He doesn't like the band?'

'Senators tend not to get along with bandleaders. Especially when a daughter marries one and gets talked into playing nightclubs wearing a one-piece bathing suit and a pair of high heels.' She exhaled a long plume of smoke, remembering the dismay on her dad's face when she'd sung him her version of 'Whoopee Ti-Yi-Yo.'

Whatever the excesses of her second career, she'd never let it interfere with her training. She recalled a night at the Century Club in Chicago, the place smoke filled and reeking of scotch. A hoodlum crowd if ever she'd seen one. After the show she'd stood drinks for the boys, but Herb went to bed, licked. And at two in the morning she was at the Lakeshore Pool, lap swimming,ploughing up the lanes as a mist billowed over the water. Her nose and throat were raw from the cold air, her every muscle honed to its purpose - not just to win, but to win spectacularly, with all the speed in her power.

A knock at the door, and a uniformed cabin boy entered with a bouquet almost as large as he was.

'One o' you ladies Eleanor Emerson?'

Eleanor took the flowers and opened the card. Good luck, Kid. No hard feelings? Herb.

A scent of lilies settled heavily in the confined space. But before she had time to dwell on Herb's gesture, Olive was holding up a small sheet of paper.

'Hey, who put this here? It was underneath my pillow.'

Eleanor and Marjorie lifted their pillows and found the same anonymous printed message. Eleanor read it out loud, her voice hardening as she realised what it was.

MEN AND WOMEN OF THE USA TEAM! GERMANY WILL SHOW YOU A SMILING FACE THAT HIDES ITS EVIL HEART. EVERY DAY CITIZENS WHO DO NOT THINK LIKE THE NAZIS ARE TORTURED AND MURDERED. PROTEST AGAINST THIS CRIMINAL REGIME BY REMAINING ON YOUR STARTING BLOCKS AT EACH RACE! DO NOT ALLOW YOURSELVES TO BECOME PAWNS OF NAZI PROPAGANDA!


'Gee, those boycotters don't let up,' said Marjorie, who had picked up a copy of Vogue and began flicking through it. She held up a page with an airbrushed portrait of Hannah Liebermann posing with her foil. 'Doesn't she look like Myrna Loy?'

'My mom got a letter from her union telling her I shouldn't be going,' said Olive. 'That the Nazis have banned the trade unions... or something like that. Didn't sound like such a bad idea to her. If the AOC says it's okay for us to go, that was fine by her.'

Eleanor crumpled up her copy of the note and tossed it straight through the open porthole. A thought crossed her mind - that her father had arranged for these notes to be placed here, that he was aiming one final guilt-tipped arrow at her before she sailed. But equally, she supposed, they might have been left there by any hothead from the boycott movement. There were enough of them.

'What I cannot understand,' she said, opening a compact mirror and inspecting her lipstick, 'is what the hell's it to do with Olympic sport?' She snapped the mirror shut. 'Why would anyone think there's something wrong with wanting to win gold medals for the USA?'

Excerpted from Flight from Berlin by David John. Copyright © 2012 by David John. Excerpted by permission of Harper. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  A Short History of the Zeppelin

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.