Excerpt from Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler, Maira Kalman, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Why We Broke Up

by Daniel Handler, Maira Kalman

Why We Broke Up
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Dec 2011, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2013, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Was that - Ed Slaterton?" Lauren asked, with a bag in her hand.

"When?" I said.

"Before. Don't say when. It was. Who invited him? That's crazy, him here."

"I know," I said. "Right? Nobody."

"And was he getting your number?"

I closed my hand on the bottle caps so nobody could see them. "Um."

"Ed Slaterton is asking you out? Ed Slaterton asked you out?"

"He didn't ask me out," I said, technically. "He just asked me if he could - "

"If he could what?"

The bag rustled in the wind. "If he could ask me out," I admitted.

"Dear God in heaven," Lauren said, and then, quickly, "as my mother would say."

"Lauren - "

"Min just got asked out by Ed Slaterton," she called into the house.

"What?" Jordan stepped out. Al peered startled and suddenly through the kitchen window, frowning over the sink like I was a raccoon.

"Min just got asked out - "

Jordan looked around the yard for him. "Really?"

"No," I said, "not really. He just asked for my number."

"Sure, that could mean anything," Lauren snorted, tossing wet napkins into the bag. "Maybe he works for the phone company."

"Stop."

"Maybe he's just obsessed with area codes."

"Lauren - "

"He asked you out. Ed Slaterton."

"He's not going to call," I said. "It was just a party."

"Don't put yourself down," Jordan said. "You have all the qualities Ed Slaterton looks for in his millions of girlfriends, come to think of it. You have two legs."

"And you're a carbon-based life-form," Lauren said.

"Stop," I said. "He's not - he's just a guy."

"Listen to her, just a guy." Lauren picked up another piece of trash. "Ed Slaterton asked you out. It's crazy. That's, like, Eyes on the Roof crazy."

"It's not as crazy as what is, by the way, a great movie, and it's Eyes on the Ceiling. And, he's not really going to call."

"I just can't believe it," Jordan said.

"There's nothing to believe," I said to everybody in the yard, including me. "It was a party and Ed Slaterton was there and it's over and now we're cleaning up."

"Then come help me," Al said finally, and held up the dripping punch bowl. I hurried to the kitchen and looked for a towel.

"Throw those out?"

"What?"

He pointed at the bottle caps in my hand.

"Right, yeah," I said, but with my back turned they went into my pocket. Al handed me everything, the bowl, the towel to dry it, and looked me over.

"Ed Slaterton?"

"Yeah," I said, trying to yawn. I was thumping inside.

"Is he really going to call you?"

"I don't know," I said.

"But you - hope so?"

"I don't know."

"You don't know?"

"He's not going to call me. He's Ed Slaterton."

"I know who he is, Min. But you - what are you - ?"

"I don't know."

"You know. How can you not know?"

I'm good at changing the subject. "Happy birthday, Al."

Al just shook his head, probably because I was smiling, I guess. I guess I was smiling, the party over and these bottle caps burning in my pocket. Take them back, Ed. Here they are. Take back the smile and the night, take it all back, I wish I could.

Excerpted from Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler and Maira Kalman. Copyright © 2011 by Daniel Handler and Maira Kalman. Excerpted by permission of Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  How to Keep a Commonplace Book

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.