Excerpt from Stealing Mona Lisa by Carson Morton, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Stealing Mona Lisa

A Mystery

by Carson Morton

Stealing Mona Lisa
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2011, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2012, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Karen Rigby

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


He had expected the ladies to go first, but Hart immediately started to pound up the steps. Mrs. Hart seemed to hesitate for a moment so he decided to follow her husband without waiting.

Valfierno made a point of keeping one step behind and below Hart in a deliberate attempt to keep their heads at the same level. "You will not be disappointed, señor, I can assure you."

"I'd better not be."

Valfierno glanced back down. Mrs. Hart was gently leading her mother up the steps.

As they reached the top, Valfierno pulled out his pocket watch.

"The museum closes in fifteen minutes," he said. "Perfect timing."

They walked into the lobby, stopping and turning as Mrs. Hart and her mother entered behind them.

"I think it best if you remain here in the lobby," said Hart. "You understand, don't you, dear?" His tone was solicitous but firm.

"I just thought that Mother and I would like to see some of the - "

"We'll come back tomorrow... when you'll have more time to appreciate the art. I did say that I thought it best that you stay in the hotel. Now please, do as I say."

Valfierno sensed that Mrs. Hart was about to protest, but, after a brief pause, she averted her eyes and simply said, "As you wish."

The look Hart gave Valfierno was unmistakable: enough talk. With a brief nod to Mrs. Hart, Valfierno led him off through the mu­seum.

The two men made their way through a large atrium, moving through the hazy dust suspended in the shafts of late afternoon sun. The few patrons who remained  were already moving in the opposite direction on their way out.

"If I may say so," Valfierno began, "your wife is quite lovely."

"Yes," Hart said, clearly distracted.

"And her mother - "

Hart cut him off. "Her mother is an imbecile."

Valfierno could think of no response to this.

"She has no mind left," Hart continued. "Useless to bring her along in the first place, but my wife insisted."

A moment later, Valfierno and Hart stood before Edward Ma­net's La Ninfa Sorprendida mounted on a freestanding wall that ran down the center of the long gallery known as Sala 17. A zaftig nymph is clutching a white silky robe to her bosom to hide her nakedness. She is turned toward an intruder who has caught her sitting alone in a sylvan forest, perhaps preparing to swim in the pool behind her. Her eyes are wide with surprise, but her full lips, parted only slightly, suggest that, although she is startled, she is not ashamed.

Valfierno had stood  here many times before and he always wondered, who was the intruder? A complete stranger? Someone she knew whom she expected to follow her? Or was Valfierno himself - or anyone  else who stood in awe of her - the intruder?

"Exquisite, is it not?" Valfierno said, less a question than a state­ment.

Hart ignored him. He stood staring at the painting, sizing it up with the suspicious gaze of a man trying to find fault with a race­horse he's thinking of buying.

"It's darker than I thought it would be," Hart finally said.

"Yet the soft light of her skin draws one's eye out of the dark­ness, wouldn't you say?" Valfierno prompted.

"Yes, yes," Hart said, the impatience in his voice betraying his growing agitation. "And you tell me that it's one of his most cele­brated works?"

"One among many," Valfierno allowed. "But certainly highly re­garded."

Never oversell. Let the painting and the client's avarice do all the work.

Valfierno let the ensuing silence hang in the air. Timing was everything in such matters. Let Mr. Joshua Hart of Newport, Rhode Island, drink it all in. Let him absorb it until the thought of leaving Argentina without the object of his obsession was unimaginable.

"Señor Hart," he finally said, glancing at his pocket watch, "only five minutes to closing."

From Stealing Mona Lisa by Carson Morton. Copyright © 2011 by the author and reprinted by permission of St. Martin’s Press, LLC.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  La Giaconde (The Mona Lisa)

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.