Excerpt from The Informationist by Taylor Stevens, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Informationist

A Thriller

by Taylor Stevens

The Informationist
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2011, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2011, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


The house, the cars, the vacation and investment properties were all sold off, and Texas's community-property law split twenty years of earning down the middle. Her daughter chose to live with the ex-husband, and Breeden took what was left, put it into an investment fund, packed up, and moved to Dallas to start over.

They'd met on the Southern Methodist University campus, where Breeden had returned for an M.B.A. and Munroe was in her sophomore year. The relationship began as a cautious mother-and-daughter surrogacy at a time when people still called Munroe by her given name.

When she'd received the unusual job offer that would require interrupting her studies in order to make a trip to Morocco, Breeden was the one she'd gone to for advice.

Breeden now owned a successful marketing consulting firm and practiced law on the side for a few select clients. She was Munroe's buffer between everyday life and life on assignment. In the months and sometimes years that Munroe was out of the country, Breeden paid the bills, kept the accounts open, and forwarded pressing matters. Breeden was warm and friendly and absolutely ruthless. She'd screw a person over with a polite smile - cozy up and bury them alive - and for that reason Breeden was an ally: She was safe.

Breeden was a bottle-dyed blonde with shoulder-length hair and heavy bangs that flattered almond-shaped eyes. Munroe found her at a corner table looking over a stack of paperwork and sipping red wine.

Breeden made eye contact, rose with an enormous smile, and grasped Munroe's hands warmly. "Michael," she said with trademark breathlessness, "you look so well. Turkey was good to you!"

"The Four Seasons did this to me," Munroe said, taking a seat, "but I did love Turkey."

"Have you completely wrapped that one up?"

"A few minor details and then I'll be finished." Munroe dug into a roll, spread the butter on thickly, and then politely motioned for the documents. Breeden passed them across the table. After a few minutes of flipping through pages, Munroe said, "This doesn't seem like something I'd handle." She smiled. "Is that what you meant by 'exception'?"

"It's the easy money," Breeden said. Munroe paused, and Breeden continued. "When Burbank's daughter disappeared in Africa about four years ago, he hired the best international investigators and, when that proved futile, mercenaries. So far, nothing."

"Why come to me?"

"He's seen your work, says this is just another form of information."

"It could be." Munroe shrugged. "But that's money hard earned, nothing easy about it."

"When I got the call, I spoke with Burbank himself - no middlemen or corporate strategists. He's offering that hundred thousand just for the meeting, regardless of your answer. He wants to present the case to you personally."

Munroe let out a low whistle.

"I did explain that he was probably wasting both his time and his money. But there are worse ways to earn a hundred grand than overlooking the Houston skyline for a day."

Munroe pressed her thumb to the bridge of her nose and sighed. "I really don't know, Kate. Once I hear the details, I might want to take it, and we both know that whether I wish it or not, I need a break..." Her voice trailed off.

"I'll call Burbank in the morning," Breeden said. "I'll let him know you've declined."

Munroe's eyes fell to the documents. "I haven't declined yet," she said. "I made the trip, didn't I?" She reached for the papers and thumbed through them again. "Is this everything?"

"Officially, yes."

"Have you read it all?"

"Yes."

"What about unofficially?"

"In the dossiers are personal bits and pieces centering on Elizabeth Burbank. It seems that at or around the same time the first teams were setting out to track down Emily, she had a nervous breakdown and had to be hospitalized. She was in and out of retreats for a year before she passed away. Suicide."

Excerpted from The Informationist by Taylor Stevens. Copyright © 2011 by Taylor Stevens. Excerpted by permission of Crown. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.