Excerpt from Sugar Busters by H Leighton Steward, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Sugar Busters

by H Leighton Steward

Sugar Busters
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 1998, 270 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2003, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Excerpt
Sugar Busters

We are going to propose a way of eating that will allow you to eat most foods in normal quantities, possibly even in larger quantities than you presently consume. You can have three full meals a day and even appropriate snacks. There will not be many things you cannot eat, but there will be certain combinations you should definitely avoid. What you need to avoid most will be foods or combinations of foods that require the secretion of large amounts of insulin to regulate your blood sugar. By simply doing this, you can get slimmer and healthier simultaneously....

Let's get to the point: Sugar is toxic! Sugar? Some sugar? Most sugar? All sugar? Toxic? Well, we will say that refined sugar in any significant quantity is toxic to many human bodies, and it certainly helps make many bodies fat. Moreover, significant quantities of sugar are derived in our digestive system from carbohydrates and starches. Certain of these foods cause a definite strain on the health of the body, probably the mind, and certainly the waistline. Fructose, sugar in fruit, will not normally hurt you, but eaten at the wrong time or in the wrong combinations can create both digestive and metabolic problems. Therefore, what we are recommending is a low-sugar diet. Surprisingly, that cannot be achieved simply by putting away your sugar canister.

How can sugar, something that tastes so good and has been fed so readily to most of us since childhood by our most trusted person on earth, our own mother, possibly be bad for us? Aside from a few bad direct effects, such as dissolving our teeth, sugar largely acts as a stimulus in causing our pancreas gland to secrete one of our body's most powerful hormones, insulin!
Insulin has some good effects on our bodies, such as regulating our blood sugar level, but the bad effects caused by the overproduction of this megahormone are certainly impressive and will be described at length later. Succinctly, insulin causes our bodies to store excess sugar as fat. Insulin further prohibits the mobilization of previously stored fat, even if one is on a rather skimpy, but glucose-generating, diet. And, most significantly, insulin signals our livers to make another big "C" word, cholesterol.

With the SUGAR BUSTERS! meal plan, you get four-star recipes from New Orleans's top restaurants for the most succulent foods imaginable...

  • Beef Tenderloins with Marchand de Vin Sauce
  • Shrimp Ravigote
  • Confit of Duck
  • Venison Tenderloin in Beer Glaze
  • Lamb Loin Provencale
  • Pan-Roasted Filet Mignon Stuffed with Maytag Blue Cheese
  • Warm Haricot Vert and Bacon Salad
  • Shrimp, Crab, and Okra Gumbo
  • Crab-and-Shrimp Stuffed Eggplant
  • ...even Hamburgers!

  • 1

Use of this excerpt from Sugar Busters by H. Leighton Steward may be made only for purposes of promoting the book, with no changes, editing, or additions whatsoever, and must be accompanied by the following copyright notice: Copyright© 1995 by H. Leighton Steward, Dr. Morrison C. Bethea, Dr. S. All rights reserved

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.