Excerpt from Village of the Ghost Bears by Stan Jones, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Village of the Ghost Bears

A Nathan Active Mystery

by Stan Jones

Village of the Ghost Bears
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Dec 2009, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2011, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Cindy Anderson

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


“Oh, God,” she said. “Where’s his face? And look at his hands. The flesh is just . . . gone. What would do that?”

“I don’t know,” he said. “I’ve never seen anything like—wait, didn’t Cowboy say something about pike in the lake back there?”

She nodded, and Active moved closer to the head of the corpse, now lying on its side in the shallow water. “Pike supposedly eat everything. Even their own young.”

Grace looked nervously at the water rippling over her Sorels, then at Active, and edged toward the bank. “Are they in here now?”

“I don’t think this happened to him here,” Active said, feeling himself shift back into work mode. “He must have been in the lake for a while. That’s when the pike would have gotten at him. Then he drifted into the outlet and got stuck here in these shallows.” He studied what was left of the man’s face. Nothing but grinning bones with a few shreds of flesh attached, but he still had his ears and most of his straight black hair, probably because the hood of his anorak had protected them from the pike. “Anything about him seem familiar?”

Grace stepped a little closer and studied everything but the missing face. “Not really. But he’s obviously from around here.”

Active nodded. The anorak had a duct-tape patch below one shoulder, and the man wore a faded Nike sweatshirt underneath, plus insulated Carhartt jeans and Sorels like their own. “Not a stitch of Eddie Bauer or Patagonia on him. But nobody’s been reported missing.”

“Maybe he’s not overdue yet. I wonder how long he’s been here.”

Active shook his head. “Not long, probably. He’s dressed for cool weather.”

“But how did he die?”

As one, they turned to stare out over One-Way Lake toward the cliff looming at its upper end.

“Beats me.” Active scanned the lakeshore for any sign of a camp or boat, then shook his head. “Well, I’ll go through his pockets and pack and see who he was. Let’s get him over to the bank.” At Grace’s look of reluctance, he added, “You can take the feet.”

Ten minutes later, Active shook his head in mystification and began stuffing the hunter’s belongings back into his pack.

“No I.D., huh?” Grace said.

“Nothing. No wallet, no name on his clothes or tent or sleeping bag, nothing. Weird, huh?”

“Not that weird. A lot of guys from the villages don’t carry I.D. when they’re out in the country. Just one more thing to lose.”

“Good point,” he said. “What do you make of this?”

He pulled the soggy remains of a box of two-seventy ammunition out of the pack and held it up for inspection. “I guess he was hunting,” she said. “Why else would he be up here?”

“Exactly. Caribou, probably, or maybe sheep. So where’s his rifle?”

They looked across the lake again, then at each other. “All right, you take the right bank, I’ll take the left, and we’ll meet at the upper end,” he said. “Give a shout if you find his gun, or anything else man-made, or anything that looks like a recent campsite.”

Forty-five minutes later, they were standing together on the rubble at the foot of the cliff, as puzzled as ever. Active looked down the lake toward the outlet, then at the mountain behind them, and swore softly to himself as he pulled the binoculars hanging around his neck from the folds of his coat and raised them to his eyes.

“You think?” Grace said.

He nodded, sweeping the mountainside with the glasses. There was a relatively gentle slope at the top, where caribou trails cut through the tundra carpet, then bare gray and brown rock, steepening to a near-vertical cliff that ended at the talus fan. “There we go,” he said finally, pointing at a spot uphill and to their right, a few yards above the talus.

Excerpted from Village of the Ghost Bears by Stan Jones. Copyright © 2009 by Stan Jones. Excerpted by permission of Soho Press. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.