Excerpt from Bamboo and Blood by James Church, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Bamboo and Blood

An Inspector O Novel

by James Church

Bamboo and Blood
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Nov 2008, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2010, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


“Never. Mind.” Pak was right beside me, yelling to be heard over the wind that suddenly swept down the slope. The first blast tore his words apart. A second blast hit just as he tried again. To keep my balance, I turned sideways, which may be why I could hear the wind and nothing else. I thought my right ear might be ripped off in the gale, but not before it froze solid. I imagined an ice cube with my ear inside skittering along the ground, bouncing against trees and rocks, until at last it came to rest at the foot of the mountain. It might be deemed a new listening post of substantial value. “Good work, Inspector,” someone in the Ministry would say months hence, after all the paperwork on my commendation was complete, but I would only hear ice melting off the rocks, since my ear would not be in range of commendations.

“No, I’ll do it. I’ll do it,” I said to Pak when the wind died down for a moment and I could feel that my ear was still attached. I brushed more snow off my coat and tried to use the sleeve to clear the lenses. “But we might as well quit. Really, being out here is not healthy.” Then the wind started again, furious at something, howling, smashing any words that dared emerge. The last thing in the world we needed was to climb a mountain in this weather. We weren’t dressed for it, not through lack of foresight on our part. The Ministry just didn’t issue anything fit for climbing mountains in the middle of a blizzard. “The only thing we’re going to find is frostbite,” I said. The lenses were still frosted over, though at least now they were glistening.

Pak hunched his shoulders. “Relax, Inspector. Don’t get in a sweat, or you’ll get frostbite for sure.” He reached for the binoculars. “You know, your ears don’t look normal, especially the right one. Funny color for flesh.” He cocked his head. “Are you alright? Pull down those flaps, why don’t you?” He tugged down his own and pointed to his ears. “That’s why they put them on these hats. Costs us extra, you know. Might as well use them, snaps or not.”

To hell with earflaps, I thought and put my hands back in my pockets. To hell with standing in the cold. “This is ugly weather.” I was shouting at the top of my lungs, but from the look on his face, I didn’t think Pak could hear me. “We can’t even see our boots in this wind!” It surprised me that I could still form words; my cheeks were numb, and the feeling had practically drained from my lips. “We’ll be stuck in that miserable hut back there for days.” I jerked my head in the direction of the peaks, made nearly invisible by the snow, unless the wind had become so strong it was actually blowing apart the light. “He’ll freeze to death up there.” I didn’t point because I didn’t want to take my hands from my pockets again. “We’ll be lucky to find him next May.” Pak gave me a blank stare. I shouted louder. “If he’s down here in the next few minutes, we’ll invite him to dine. I’ll warm my ears in the soup.” The wind shrieked and knocked me sideways a step.

Pak shook his head. “What? I can’t hear you with these flaps down.”

  • 1
  • 2

Bamboo and Blood. Copyright © 2008 by James Church. Reproduced by permission of the publisher, Thomas Dunne books, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press. All rights reserved.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.