Excerpt from An Ordinary Spy by Joseph Weisberg, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

An Ordinary Spy

A Novel

by Joseph Weisberg

An Ordinary Spy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Dec 2007, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2009, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Amy Reading

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Phil drove me to my house in a leafy, almost Mediterranean neighborhood called         Hill. Two         guards stood in front of the gate, rifles slung over their shoulders. They pulled the gate open and gave a friendly wave as we drove past. Set back behind a few     trees was a two-story white house, with a well- tended flower garden along one side. My car, a blue Dodge Dart, was sitting in the driveway on the other side of the house. I’d bought that car because I assumed it would look bad to have a foreign-made car at the CIA. Then the first day I’d driven it to Headquarters, I saw that the enormous Agency parking lot was filled with Hondas and Toyotas. My Dart looked more at home here in      .

6

After showing me around the house, Phil took me to the den at the back of the first floor and talked about security arrangements. The den was designated as a safe room. He showed me how to trigger the mechanism that brought a           out of the wall, which swooped in a           and locked on the other end.

"Couldn’t they still shoot you through that?" I asked.

"The     is designed to protect you against kidnapping," he said. "They can’t get to you in there. Food, water       the          . You can go three days in here without a problem."

"But what if they want to shoot you?"

"Well, then, I guess you’re gonna get shot."

"Wouldn’t it be a better idea, then, if there were some sort of attack, or unrest, to just flee? Get out into the yard, go over the back fence? Just get out?"

"We recommend you use the safe room. This is where we’ll come looking for you."

7

The next morning, I spent a few hours unpacking, then I did a trial drive to the embassy to make sure I knew how to get there and how much time it took. In the afternoon, I went down to the     District. When you see a photograph that’s trying to conjure      , it’s probably    . The crowded, dusty streets, with brightly colored       hanging from windows, are somehow repulsive and appealing at the same time. Men in sweat-stained shirts, women in                , and the occasional animal stream down the main thoroughfare in both directions. In American cities, large groups of people divide naturally into lanes to facilitate getting down a crowded street. Here, two masses just pushed forward, bumping and weaving as they went.

I couldn’t help thinking the controlled chaos was the perfect metaphor for      . After all my reading, I knew the broad outlines of the history and political fissures that had shaped, and also oppressed, the country. After the                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 .

Reprinted by permission of Bloomsbury USA.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.