Excerpt from An Ordinary Spy by Joseph Weisberg, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

An Ordinary Spy

A Novel

by Joseph Weisberg

An Ordinary Spy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Dec 2007, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2009, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Amy Reading

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Back at my desk, I turned to McCelvoy’s cable again. I found the line that was sticking in my head: "SUBJECT COULD CURRENTLY BE LOCATED IN               EMBASSY IN             OR NEIGHBORING COUNTRY WHILE UNDERGOING INTERROGATION,              , OR ANYWHERE IN          v  OR THE              ." It was quite a list of possibilities.

3

There was a contractor working in           named William. There were a fair number of these guys around, retired case officers who got bored in retirement and came back to work desks in their old Divisions. William was more impressive than most of them. He was probably as close as there was to a George Smiley at the Agency, meaning he was extremely smart and highly compassionate. He also looked the part of the wise old hand, with white hair and square, chunky glasses.

William had taken me under his wing as soon as I’d arrived in the office. Everyone at the Agency was friendly—you called your bosses by their first names, and even the Chief of the Division knew my name. It was a requirement of the culture that you be nice, and people knew how to do it. But William’s kindness felt more genuine. He asked questions about my personal life and talked to me about things that had nothing to do with the Agency. He went down to the cafeteria with me for lunch at least once a week. He even invited me to his house for an anniversary party where there were only eight or nine guests. Several of them were very high- ranking Agency officers, and William introduced me to them as "an extremely promising young C/O."

I was also fortunate because William’s final tour before retirement had been as Chief of Station in          . I asked him endless questions about the operational environment and the people and the customs, and I felt the things I was learning would allow me to hit the ground running when I got there.

The day after I read the TRACER file, I went over to William’s cubicle. He turned away from his computer and motioned for me to sit down.

"I’m working on the file review," I said.

"How’s it coming?" he asked.

"Not bad. I’m getting there. I ran into this case—TDTRACER."

William nodded slightly.

"You remember it?" I said.

"Bobby Goldstein’s case."

"He was the C/O?"

"Yup," William said.

"Andrew L. Seegram?"

"I think that was his pseudonym. It sounds right."

"You were COS then?"

William nodded.

"It’s funny, the last cable is                    . And it’s by a different C/O. From the way it was written, I thought it might be from the DCOS"—Deputy Chief of Station—"or something. I hope it was okay that I read it."

"If it was in the file, I wouldn’t worry about it."

"Why’s a                     in with the regular file?" "Probably just misfiled."

"And the whole thing just kind of stops in the middle. Where are the rest of the cables?"

Reprinted by permission of Bloomsbury USA.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.