Excerpt from Farthing by Jo Walton, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Farthing

by Jo Walton

Farthing
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2006, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2007, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Carmichael's heart sank at the thought of the work involved. "A party?" he repeated.

"Well yes," Betty said. "A garden party in the afternoon, and then dinner and a dance in the evening, some weekend guests and some just coming in for the festivities. That's the usual way when Lady Margaret's entertaining."

"How many people?" Carmichael asked.

Betty shook her head. "I couldn't say. Maybe not so many as sometimes."

"Did you hear cars arriving after you went to bed?" Royston asked. "You might have seen lights on your bedroom ceiling."

"Oh yes, ever so many," Betty agreed promptly.

Carmichael was wiser in the ways of the country than Royston. "What time did you go to bed?" he asked.

"A quarter after eight," Betty said. "There's one good thing to be said for the big clock, it certainly keeps you straight about time."

Carmichael couldn't help but agree. He and Royston exchanged a glance, and he shook his head a fraction, he couldn't see much purpose in interrogating Betty any longer. "Well, we'll let you go back to your dinner," he said.

She went, with a few looks back at them as Carmichael opened the gate. "Walk or drive up, sir?" Royston asked.

"Before she mentioned the circus, I was thinking walk, to see if there might be tracks. Now, I suppose we might as well drive."

"There still might be something to see," Royston said.

"Got a hunch?" Carmichael asked. Royston was famous, or notorious, for his hunches. Sometimes they were useful. Often enough they were a waste of time.

"Perhaps I shouldn't, sir," Royston said awkwardly, locking the car and pocketing the keys.

"You can say what you like about hunches, that they're good or bad, that you should follow them or shouldn't, but the one thing you can't say is that someone shouldn't have them." Carmichael swung the iron gate open with an ear-splitting creak that set the crows rising out of an elm tree in the parkland beyond.

"Do you have them, sir?" Royston asked.

"Occasionally, sergeant," Carmichael admitted. "My rule with a hunch is that if it calls for more work, like right now, follow it. If it calls for less or something like skimping, then ignore it. If it's a case where there are sixteen leads and none more likely than any other and you might as well take them in alphabetical order, then a hunch might well be the back of your mind drawing your attention to something the front of your mind missed."

The gravel path swept up between two sloping tree-studded fields. There was no sign of the house yet. The gravel revealed that Betty was right, there had been many cars driving over it, and recently. It was possible to pick out this morning's Winchester police car as fresher; otherwise they were so overlain and mingled as to be almost indistinguishable. There were occasional indications of footprints, in both directions, including one very large pair heading both up and down. "The Winchester bobby?" Carmichael hazarded as Royston measured the print.

"Not unless he buys his boots in Savile Row," Royston said, straightening. "Fourteen inches, and a very aristocratic pattern. Probably Lord Eversley himself. I don't see many of the guests strolling all this way down."

"I've seen photographs, and I'm fairly sure Eversley's not a big man," Carmichael said. "The murdered man was though, Thirkie, great giant of a fellow."

"Maybe they're his prints," Royston said. "Not much help to us then, because whoever made them was definitely alive at the time."

"Awkward sort of business," Carmichael said as they continued on up the drive. "Aristocrats, politicians, that kind of thing."

Copyright © 2006 by Jo Walton

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.