Excerpt from Twelve Sharp by Janet Evanovich, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Twelve Sharp

by Janet Evanovich

Twelve Sharp
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2006, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2007, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


He sat on the railing and swung both legs over. “Easy for you to say. You aren’t named Melvin Pickle. And I bet you were a baton twirler in high school. You probably had friends. You probably date.”

“I don’t exactly date, but I sort of have a boyfriend.” “What does sort of mean?”

“It means that he looks like my boyfriend, but I don’t say it out loud.”

“Why not?” Pickle wanted to know.

“It feels weird. I’m not sure why.” Okay, I knew why, but I wasn’t going to say that out loud either. I had feelings for two men, and I didn’t know how to chose between them.

“And I wish you wouldn’t sit like that. It’s creeping me out.”

“Are you afraid I’ll fall? I thought you didn’t care. Remember dead or alive?”

My cell phone was ringing in my bag.

“For crying out loud, answer it,” Pickle said. “Don’t worry about me, I’m only going to kill myself.”

I did an exaggerated eye roll and answered the phone.

“Hey,” Lula said. “Where are you? I been looking all over.”

“I’m in the hotel at the end of the mall.”

“I’m right outside of that hotel. What are you doing there? Do you have Pickle?”

“I don’t exactly have Pickle. We’re on the sixth floor, and he’s thinking about jumping off the balcony.”

I looked over the railing and saw Lula walk into the atrium. She looked up, and I waved at her.

“I see you,” Lula said. “Tell Pickle he’s gonna make a big mess if he jumps. This floor’s marble, and his head’s gonna crack open like a fresh egg, and there’s gonna be brains and blood all over the place.”

I disconnected and relayed the message to Pickle.

“I have a plan,” he said. “I’m going to jump feet first. That way my head won’t make such an impact when I land.”

Pickle was getting noticed. People were dotted around the atrium, looking up at him. The elevator opened behind me and a man in a suit stepped out.

“What’s going on here?” he wanted to know.

“Don’t come near me!” Pickle yelled. “If you come near me, I’ll jump.”

“I’m the hotel manager,” the man said. “Is there something I can do?”

“Do you have a giant net?” I asked him.

“Just go away,” Pickle said. “I have big problems. I’m a pervert.”

“You don’t look like a pervert,” the manager said. —”

“I whacked off in t he multiplex,” Pickle told him. “Everybody whacks off in the multiplex,” the manager said. “I like to go when there’s one of those chick flicks playing, and I wear my wife’s panties and I—”

“Jeez,” Pickle said. “Too much information.”

The manager disappeared behind the elevator doors and minutes later reappeared in the lobby. He stood in a small cluster of hotel employees, everyone with their heads back, their eyes glued to Pickle.

“You’re making a scene,” I said to Pickle.

“Yeah,” Pickle said. “Pretty soon they’re going to start yelling ‘jump.’ The human race is lacking. Have you noticed?”

“There are some good people,” I told him.

“Oh yeah? Who’s the best person you know? Of all the people you know personally, is there anyone who has a sense of right and wrong and lives by it?”

This was a sticky question because it would have to be Ranger . . . but I suspected he occasionally killed people. Only bad people, of course, but still . . .

Excerpted from Twelve Sharp, copyright (c) 2006, Janet Ivanovich. Reproduced with permission of the publisher, St. Martin's Press. All rights reserved.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.