Excerpt from Twelve Sharp by Janet Evanovich, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Twelve Sharp

by Janet Evanovich

Twelve Sharp
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2006, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2007, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


He stood and turned and bumped into me.

“You’re going to leave, aren’t you?” I said. “I bet you’re going to go out the back door and go home and never come back.”

“It’s a recurring fantasy,” he said.

I glanced at my watch. It was twelve-thirty. “Have you had lunch?” I asked him.

“No.”

“Take your lunch now and come with me, and I’ll buy you a piece of pizza.”

“There’s something wrong with this picture,” Pickle said. “Are you one of those religious nuts who wants to save me?”

“No. I’m not a religious nut.” I held my hand out. “Stephanie Plum.”

He automatically shook my hand. “Melvin Pickle.”

“I work for Vincent Plum Bail Bonds,” I said. “You missed a court date, and you need to reschedule.”

“Sure,” he said.

“Now.”



“I can’t go now. I gotta work.” “You can take your lunch break.”

“I had plans for lunch.”

Probably going to see a movie. I was still holding his hand, and with my other hand I clapped a bracelet on him. He looked down at the cuff. “What’s this? You can’t do this. People will ask questions. And then what will I tell them? I’ll have to tell them I’m a pervert!”

Two women looked over at him and raised their eyebrows. “No one will care,” I said. I turned to the women. “You don’t care, right?”

“Right,” they murmured and hurried out of the store. “Just walk out into the mall quietly with me,” I said. “I’ll take you to court and get you rebonded.”

Actually Vinnie would rebond him. Vinnie and Connie could write bond. Lula and I did the capture thing. “Darn,” Pickle said. “Darn it all.”

And he took off with the cuff dangling from his wrist. Lula stepped in front of him, but he had momentum and knocked her on her ass. He faltered for a moment, got his footing and ran off, into the mall. I was ten steps behind him. I stumbled over Lula, scrambled to my feet, and kept going. I chased him through the mall and up an escalator. A hotel with an open atrium was attached to one end of the mall. Pickle ran into the hotel and barreled through the fire door into the stairwell. I chased him up five flights of stairs and thought my lungs were going to explode. He exited the stairwell, and I dragged myself, gasping, to the door.

There were seven floors in the hotel. All rooms opened to a hallway that overlooked the hotel atrium. We were on the sixth floor. I staggered out of the stairwell and saw that Pickle had made it halfway around the atrium and was straddling the balcony railing.

“Don’t come near me,” he yelled. “I’ll jump.”

“Fine with me,” I said. “I get my money dead or alive.”

Pickle looked depressed at that fact. Or maybe Pickle just always looked depressed.

“You’re in pretty good shape,” I said, still winded. “How do you stay in such good shape?”

“My car got repossessed. I walk everywhere. And all day long I’m up and down with the shoes. At the end of the day my knees are killing me.”

I was talking to him, creeping closer. “Why don’t you get a different job? One t hat’s easier on your knees.”

“Are you kidding me? I’m lucky to have this job. Look at me. I’m a loser. And now everybody’s going to know I’m a pervert. I’m a pervert loser. And I have a big herpes. I’m a pervert loser with a herpes!”

“You need to get a grip. You don’t have to be a pervert loser if you don’t want to be.”

Excerpted from Twelve Sharp, copyright (c) 2006, Janet Ivanovich. Reproduced with permission of the publisher, St. Martin's Press. All rights reserved.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.