Excerpt from Twelve Sharp by Janet Evanovich, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Twelve Sharp

by Janet Evanovich

Twelve Sharp
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2006, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2007, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


“Too early in the day to do the pizza delivery routine,” I said.

“Can’t do the flower delivery either. Nobody believe someone sending flowers to this dope.”

“If you hadn’t changed clothes you could do the hooker delivery routine,” I said to Lula. “He would have opened the door to you in that gold thing.”

“Maybe we pretend we’re selling cookies. Like Girl Scouts. All we gotta do is go back to the 7-Eleven and get some cookies.”

I looked Johnson’s phone number up on the bond sheet and called him from my cell.

“Yeah?” a man said.

“Lonnie Johnson?”

“What the fuck you want? Fuckin’ bitch calling me at this hour. You think I got nothin’ better to do than answer this phone?” And he hung up.

“Well?” Lula asked.

“He didn’t feel like talking. And he’s angry.”

A shiny black Hummer with tinted windows and bling wheel covers rolled down the street and stopped in front of Johnson’s house.

“Uh-oh,” Lula said. “Company.”

The Hummer sat there for a moment and then opened fire on Johnson’s house. Multiple weapons. At least one was automatic, firing continuous rounds. Windows blew out and the house was drilled with shots. Gunfire was returned from the house, and I saw the nose of a rocket launcher poke out a front window. Obviously the Hummer saw it too because it laid rubber taking off.

“Maybe this isn’t a good time,” I said to Lula.

“I told you to go for the pervert.”

Melvin Pickle worked in a shoe store. The store was part of the mall that attached to the multiplex where he’d been caught shaking hands with the devil. I didn’t have a lot of enthusiasm for this capture, since I had some sympathetic feelings for Pickle. If I had to work in a shoe store all day I might go to the multiplex to whack off once in a while too.

“Not only is this going to be an easy catch,” Lula said, parking at the food court entrance, “but we can get pizza and go shopping.”

A half hour later, we were full of pizza and had taken a couple new perfumes out for a test drive. We’d moseyed down the mall and were standing in front of Pickle’s shoe store, scoping out the employees. I had a photo of Pickle that had come with his bond agreement.

“That’s him,” Lula said, looking into the store. “That’s him on his knees, trying to sell that dumb woman those ugly-ass shoes.”

According to Pickle’s paperwork he’d just turned forty. He had sandy-colored hair that looked like it had been cut in boot camp. His skin was pale, his eyes hidden behind round-rimmed glasses, his mouth accented by a big herpes sore. He was five-foot-seven and had an average build gone soft. His slacks and dress shirt were just short of shabby. He didn’t look like he cared a whole lot if the woman bought the shoes.

I moved my cuffs from my shoulder bag to my jeans pocket. “I can manage this,” I said to Lula. “You stay here in case he bolts.”

“I don’t think he looks like a bolter,” Lula said. “I think he looks more like the walking dead.”

I agreed with Lula. Pickle looked like he was two steps away from putting a bullet in his brain. I moved behind him and waited for him to stand.

“I love this shoe,” the woman said. “But I need a size nine.”

“I don’t have a size nine,” Pickle said.

“Are you sure?”

“Yeah.”

“Maybe you should go back and look again.”

Pickle sucked air for a couple beats and nodded. “Sure,” he said.

Excerpted from Twelve Sharp, copyright (c) 2006, Janet Ivanovich. Reproduced with permission of the publisher, St. Martin's Press. All rights reserved.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.